University news – February 9

Students with area ties earn dean’s lists recognition

Northern Kentucky University President’s Honors List: Kacie Kotnik, Columbus. Students named to the list must receive a 4.0 grade-point average for the semester. Kotnik is a senior pursuing a double major in applied mathematics and statistics.

Seton Hall University: Sloane Kirsch, Columbus, a broadcasting and visual media major.

Miami University: Julianna M. Pikus, Columbus.

Hanover College: Alicia Hopkins, a senior sociology and communications major from Columbus; Katie Schmidt, a sophomore from Columbus; Teresa Wiczynski, a junior kinesiology and integrative physiology and Spanish major from Columbus; Will Bridgeman, a freshman from Columbus.

Columbus learner heading to England with program

Lauren Wirth of Columbus, who is majoring in business administration-management at University of Evansville, is studying at UE’s study abroad program at Harlaxton College near Grantham, England.

Harlaxton is a historic 150-room manor house in the English countryside, offering interdisciplinary introduction to British life and culture. Classes are combined with field trips around England and weekend trips are offered to London, Paris, Ireland, Wales and the Lake District in northern England.

Colleges to host College Goal Sunday

IUPUC and Ivy Tech Community College will host College Goal Sunday, a free program Feb. 22 that assists high school seniors, high school graduates and all who will qualify for undergraduate admission to a college or university.

The session helps them file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

College Goal Sunday will be at 2 p.m. in the Columbus Learning Center, 4555 Central Ave. Check-in for the session is at the main entrance.

Filling out the FAFSA is required for students to be considered for federal and state grants, scholarships and student loans at most colleges and universities. The form must be filed by March 10 for students to be eligible for Indiana financial aid.

Financial aid professionals will assist students in completing the required online form correctly.

Students should attend the session with their parents or guardians and should bring a completed 2014 IRS 1040 tax return, W-2 form and other 2014 income and benefit information. Students who worked last year will need to bring their income information as well. Students age 24 or older may attend alone and bring their own tax return, tax documents and income and benefits information.

Students and parents are encouraged to apply for their U.S. Department of Education Personal Identification numbers at before coming to the event.

A Spanish interpreter will be available at the event.

Students who attend the event and submit a completed evaluation form will automatically be entered into a drawing for a $1,000 scholarship. Winners will be notified in March.

For more information, visit or contact Nina Loesch at or Jennifer Chandler at

Ivy Tech board has new officers

Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus has three new officers serving three-year terms.

Richard Beckort will be chairman, John Quick will be vice chairman, and Mary Stroh will be secretary.

Beckort is agriculture and natural resources extension educator for Purdue University. He has been an Ivy Tech board member since 2006.

Quick is superintendent of Bartholomew Consolidated School Corp. He has served on the Ivy Tech board since 2007.

Stroh is an attorney with Sharpnack Bigley Stroh & Washburn LLP and has served on the Ivy Tech board since 2012.

The board recognized William Harmon, Harmon Construction, for his 13 years of service as chairman of the board. Also recognized were Wesley Boas, Force Construction, for 10 years of service; and Larry Koenes, retired chief operating officer from Skillman Corp., who serves on the Central Indiana board, for two years of service.

Other members of the board are Derek Kintner, Harmon Steel Inc.; Kathy Oren, Community Education Coalition; and Jim Trueblood, Cummins Inc.

Jesse Brand, retired president of Brands Inc., was recently named trustee on the state Ivy Tech board.