University news – April 27

Wise receives award

Dawne Wise, assistant professor and medical assisting program chair at Ivy Tech Community College — Columbus, has been selected to receive this year’s President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction.

The award is presented annually to a full-time faculty member from each of the 14 Ivy Tech regions to typify instructional excellence and representing the mission of the college. The award consists of a $1,000 professional development grant and a commemorative plaque.

Wise received a Bachelor of Science degree in health care management, cum laude, from National American University, a master of science in leadership with emphasis on health care from Trine University and is studying for a doctorate degree with a concentration in curriculum and instruction from Capella University.

Ivy Tech names deans

Ivy Tech Community College — Columbus has selected five new deans for its academic programs.

Each dean is the academic and administrative leader in his or her school and is responsible for planning, budgeting, scheduling, staffing, curriculum, instruction and academic matters.

The new deans include:

Dave Donnell, dean of the School of Business, Computing, Informatics, Public & Social Services and Fine Arts & Design. He was formerly interim dean of the School of Business and prior to that the executive director of facilities.

Cathy Woodward, dean of the School of Health Sciences. She has served as interim vice chancellor for academic affairs, assistant vice chancellor for academic affairs and chair of the Health Care Support program. She was formerly the dean of the School of Health Sciences at Ivy Tech Muncie.

Janet Todd, dean of the School of Nursing, has held nursing positions at Indiana University Hospital in Indianapolis, Mohawk Valley General Hospital in Ilion, New York, Wishard Memorial Hospital in Indianapolis and Gran Care Home Health in Greensburg.

Jo Hallawell, dean of the University and Transfer Division and School of Education. Hallawell has a Ph.D. in post-secondary education and has been with Ivy Tech since 2008, with roles as program chair, department chair, and most recently, interim dean of the School of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Steven Coffman, dean of the Schools of Technology, Applied Science and Engineering Technology. He has been a learning and development specialist, senior quality engineer, training and learning specialist and quality systems leader, all at Cummins Inc. Columbus Engine Plant.

Schneck offers scholarships

Schneck Medical Center in Seymour is accepting applications for the Dr. Bud Scholarship for registered nursing school students and the George H. James Scholarship for medical school students. Applications for the two scholarships are now available at

The Dr. Bud Scholarship was established in honor of Dr. H.P. “Bud” Graessle (1893-1977). Born in Seymour, Dr. Graessle was a practicing physician and surgeon for 53 years until his retirement in 1971.

Candidates pursuing a course of study to become a registered nurse and have successfully completed their freshman year of registered nursing program at an accredited school and registered in a registered nursing program are encouraged to apply for consideration.

Primary consideration will be given to Jackson, Jennings, Scott and Washington County residents. Acceptance for enrollment at a nursing school is required for the scholarship to be officially awarded. The application must be completed in its entirety and returned to Schneck Medical Center on or before May 15 to be eligible for consideration. Contact Robin Clark at 812-524-4238 or with questions.

The George H. James Jr. Scholarship was established in honor of George H. James Jr. for his 33 years of dedicated service to Schneck Medical Center. Born in Kentucky, James became president/CEO of Schneck Medical Center in 1968 and retired in 2001. Throughout his 33 years, James had a passion for physician recruiting and has recruited numerous physicians to Schneck.

Candidates who are enrolled in a medical school are welcome to apply for consideration. Primary consideration will be given to residents of Jackson, Jennings and Scott counties who intend to practice medicine in Jackson County. Application must be completed in its entirety and returned to Schneck Medical Center on or before May 25 to be eligible for consideration.

Carr named cheerleader

Courtney Ann Carr, a senior at Columbus North High School, participated in cheerleading tryouts for Ball State University and made the squad.

She is the daughter of Todd Carr and the granddaughter of Shirley and Wilbert Carr.