University News – September 28

Purdue University awards degrees

Purdue University conferred degrees during the spring semester, including degrees to the following students:

Columbus: Kole M. Kamman, bachelor’s of science; Deryk M. Kennedy, master’s of science; Weiwu Li, master’s of business; Mallory G. Loyd, bachelor’s of arts; Jason W. Mackey, bachelor’s of science; Danielle L. Michael, bachelor’s of science; Brandon D. Muckley, doctor of pharmacy; Ayisha O. Oladapo, master’s of business administration; Adam E. Parkhurst, bachelor’s of science; Matthew J. Prall, bachelor’s of science; Michael J. Rajecki, bachelor’s of science; Donna K. Richard, bachelor’s of science; Zachary D. Rieker, bachelor’s of science; William L. Rinehart, bachelor’s of science; Mariano A. Roberts, bachelor’s of science; Lawrence J. Roederer, bachelor’s of science; Kathryn Rose Shaffer, bachelor’s of science; Courtney E. Smith, bachelor’s of arts; Hannah E. Smith, bachelor’s of science; Macall J. Twaddle, bachelor’s of science; Eric M. Ward, master’s of science.

Hope: Nicholas A. Marlin, bachelor’s of science; Craig T. Shaw, bachelor’s of science;

North Vernon: Andi Lynn Corya, doctor of pharmacy; Bobby E. Deaton, bachelor’s of science; Robert W. Lewis, bachelor’s of science; Morgan A. Siener; bachelor’s of science.

Summer session graduates include:

Columbus: Ashley A. Cook, bachelor’s of arts; Mayura H. Halbe, master’s of science; Brian J. Hunt, master’s of science; Mitchell D. Keller, bachelor’s of science; Jordan T. Kurtz, bachelor’s of science; Tristan A. Louden, bachelor’s of science; Kartavya Neema, doctor of philosphy.

Purdue announces academic honors list

For spring semester, 2015:

Columbus: Robert S. O’Leary, Jason W. Mackey, John K. Heichelbech, Casey J. Jones, Donna K. Richard, Lucio Ruiz, Ashley M. Gamboa, Derek D. Pike, Donald Hodnett, Garrett S. Banks, Megan E. Brunn, Aaron R. Hanson, Mary Abigail P. Presto, Luke T. Laugle, Jonathan T. Gill, Jacob T. Bosecker, Catherine A. Sterling, Samuel E. Ferdon, Allison K. Grana, John M. Malina, Joseph M. Amlung, Matthew J. Prall, Mallory G. Loyd, Michael G. Woodworth, Lyndsay M. Johnson, Macall J. Twaddle, Siddharth M. Bhagwat, Aaron J. Cunningham, Alexa A. Yrineo.

Hope: Terry W. Burcham, Amanda C. Hunnicutt

North Vernon: Jonathan W. Webster, Amy L. Burbrink

Ivy Tech student has internship with state

An Ivy Tech Community College student is serving as an intern with Rep. Luke Messer, R-Ind.

Amy Gillen, who is seeking an associate degree in office administration at Ivy Tech in Columbus, began the 16-week internship in Messer’s Shelbyville office Aug. 25.

Messer serves Indiana’s 6th district which includes Jennings and Bartholomew counties.

Gillen works at Messer’s office Tuesdays and Thursdays for about 15 hours per week.

— Staff Reports

Author photo
Julie McClure is assistant managing editor of The Republic. She can be reached at or (812) 379-5631.