Columbus racer goes out on top

Logan Hupp of Columbus went out in style on Sept. 26 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon by winning the 410 sprint car feature.

Earlier last week, Hupp announced he was selling all of his equipment and for the time being was done as a full-time racer.

Hupp started fourth in the main event at Twin Cities and took the lead for the first time in the race on lap nine. Hupp and Columbus’ Joss Moffatt then put on a terrific battle for the lead, throwing slide jobs on each other lap after lap.

Hupp eventually pulled away and went on to record his first win of the season. He won by a straightaway over North Vernon’s Drew Abel and Moffatt.

“Even though I am only 22 years old, I am just burned out at this point,” Hupp said. “We haven’t had a good year at all. So I decided last week I was going to sell everything and get out of owning my own stuff. I would race for someone else in the future if the opportunity comes along. Maybe racing two or three times a month would be best right now.”

“I want thank my dad, Dale, my mom Jenni, my girlfriend Taylor Fisher, and Jason Knoke and everyone else who has helped me out,” he said. “I have raced since I was 9 years old, starting on go-karts, mini-sprints and now the sprints. It is just time for a change. I want to thank everyone who came to the track on Saturday night. What a great way to go out.”

There was an added fan in victory for the celebration as Hupp’s grandfather Ronnie was in attendance.

“It was the first time that he had seen me win a race that was pretty cool,” Hupp said.

Hupp’s DRC Chassis is powered by a Williams Precision Engines of St. Paul and sponsored by Tony Stewart Racing, Indy Race Parts, Drain Master and Timberline Carpet.

Columbus racer wins at Twin Cities

Willie Sallee of Columbus won his first Pure Stock feature in two years on Sept. 19 at Twin Cities. Sallee, who turns 66 on Thursday has sponsorship from Willie’s Speed Shop, The Kroot Corporation, Ray’s Cracked Head Repair, Next Gen Distribution LLC and B&M Salvage.

Brownstown ready for Funfest

The Brownstown Speedway will host the 20th annual Funfest next weekend. Activity gets underway on Thursday with a practice session for all divisions of cars. On Friday, there will be a $2,000 sprint car feature, along with heat races for UMRA TQ Midgets, Crate Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks, Hornets and Bombers.

Oct. 10 will see a complete program for the Super Late Models, plus consy and feature events for Crate Late Models, TQ Midgets, Super Stocks, Hornets, Pure Stocks and Bombers. There will also be powder puff races for the ladies.

On Oct. 11 will be a Hornet and Pure Stock Enduro and any makeup races for anything that gets rained out on Friday and Oct. 10.

Flashback 40 years ago (1975)

Paul Crockett won his third straight late model feature at Brownstown over John Warner of Columbus and Ray Godsey. Ed Covey won the bomber feature over Harold Sanders and Jeff Mounce.

At Twin Cities, Jim Raymer won the 6-cylinder feature over Denny Long and Chuck Gilpin of Columbus. In the hobby stock class, Columbus drivers swept the top three positions with Herman Burton winning over Jack Smith and Dave Petro.

At Bloomington, Johnny Krebbs won the sprint car feature over Tony Solomito and Bobby Black of Columbus. Russ Petro of Columbus won the stock car feature over Ira Bastin and Don Hobbs.

Local racing results

Brownstown Speedway (Sept. 26)

Super Late Model feature: 1. Matt Bex; 2. Chad Stapleton; 3. Steve Barnett; 4. Tyler Allen; 5. Alan Magner.

Indiana Pro Late Model feature: 1. Jeremy Hines; 2. Marty O’Neal; 3. Steve Barnett; 4. Brad Barrow; 6. Alan Magner.

Modified feature: 1. Joe Godsey; 2. Jeremy Owens; 3. Jacoby Hines; 4. Richie Lex; 5. Rick Gumm.

Super Stock feature: 1. Matt Boknecht; 2. Tyler Cain; 3. Tim Eddelman; 4. Mike Fields; 5. Jamey Wilson.

Pure Stock feature: 1. Tim Rivers; 2. Jim Ruddick; 3. Chris Workman; 4. Will McRoberts; 5. William Burton.

Hornet feature: 1. Austin Burton; 2. Greg Garrison; 3. Donnie Modesty; 4. Darren Batchelor; 5. Brian Mitchell.

Twin Cities Raceway Park (Sept. 26)

410 Non-wing Sprint feature: 1. Logan Hupp; 2. Drew Abel; 3. Joss Moffatt; 4. Andrew Prather; 5. Matt Branning.

Modified feature: 1. Mike Weber; 2. Josh Phelps; 3. John Trowbridge; 4. Mike Bechelli.

Pure Stock feature: 1. Willie Sallee; 2. Bobby Johnson; 3. Troy Clark; 4. Mark Bruce; 5. Matt Wheeler.

Hornet feature: 1. Cody Clarkson; 2. Todd Cain; 3. Troy Clark; 4. Daniel Moore; 5. Cordell Moore.

Eldora Speedway (Sept. 25)

World of Outlaw Sprint feature: 1. Greg Wilson; 2. Shane Stewart; 3. Rico Abreu; 4. Donny Schatz; 5. Dale Blaney.

(Sept. 26)

USAC National Sprint feature: 1. Thomas Meseraull; 2. Kody Swanson; 3. Dave Darland; 4. Bryan Clauson; 5. Scotty Weir.

USAC National Midget feature: 1. Christopher Bell; 2. Rico Abreu; 3. Tracy Hines; 4. Tanner Thorson; 5. Kevin Thomas Jr.

USAC Silver Crown feature: 1. Christopher Bell; 2. Kody Swanson; 3. Chris Windom; 4. Shane Cottle; 5. Brady Bacon.

Upcoming racing schedule

Brownstown Speedway (812-358-5332)

Tonight: Season Championships Super Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

Twin Cities Raceway Park (812-346-7223)

Tonight: Non-wing 410 Sprints, Mini-sprints, TQ’s, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

Lawrenceburg Speedway (812-539-4700)

Tonight: USAC National Sprint Car Series, plus Modifieds.

Eldora Speedway (937-338-3815)

Tonight: UMP Fall Nationals, Late Models and Modifieds.