Taylorsville driver successful in comeback year

Tim Eddelman is having a renaissance season this year.

He returned to the cockpit after sitting out the 2014 racing season. He has recorded several top-five finishes in his return to the track.

Eddelman, 47, who lives in Taylorsville and graduated from Columbus East High School in 1986, grew up watching his uncles, Dwayne and Larry Palmer, race at local tracks. Following a standout football career at East, Eddelman started his racing career in 1996 with the help of Columbus native Gene Tyree.

“We started off in the Street Stocks, which are now called Super Stocks,” said Eddelman, who was born and raised in Columbus. “We ran them for three years and then made the switch to open wheel modifieds in 1999.”

Eddelman raced modifieds for 14 years before deciding to sit out the 2014 season.

“I had a lot going on with my business and family things that I wanted to do,” he said. “I went to a couple of races last year. I was bored when I went. There is nothing like being behind the wheel of a car every week. I just can’t sit and watch.”

So Eddelman decided to get back into a super stock this season. Despite a late start, he has fared very well against some stiff competition at Brownstown. He has three career feature wins, all of them at Union County Speedway in Liberty. His biggest goal is to win a feature at Brownstown.

Eddelman’s crew consists of his wife, Lisa, along with Brandon and Vince Eddelman, Bill Zimmerman, Jason King, Larry Sullivan and Keith Beier.

“I have to thank all of my sponsors, especially Gene Tyree at Tyree’s Trim Shop. Brian Ballard at the Kroot Corporation, Jamie Williams of Williams Vinyl Signs and Graphics,” Eddelman said. “Larry Sullivan builds my engines, and he has done a tremendous job with those. I haven’t had any engine issues this year.”

Also sponsoring Eddelman’s car are Wedan Street and Performance, Tim’s Flooring Installation and Columbus Collision and Restoration.

Local tracks rained out

Rain and cool temperatures forced Brownstown, Lawrenceburg and Twin Cities to cancel their race programs Sept. 26.

The cancellation ended the 2015 racing season at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon, with no more races scheduled for rest of the season. The track points have ended as well, with the following winning the points championship in their respective divisions: Steve Barnett (Late Model), Mike Bechelli of Elizabethtown (Crate Late Model), Bryson Clark of North Vernon (Modified), Troy Clark of North Vernon (Super Stock), Mark Bruce (Pure Stock), Todd Cain (Hornet) and Drew Abel of North Vernon (410 Sprints).

Brownstown Speedway has its season championship races canceled last week as well. This weekend, the track hosts the annual Funfest for several divisions of race cars. The points have also ended at Brownstown, with the following capturing track titles in their respective divisions: Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh (Late Model), Marty O’Neal (Indiana Pro Late Models), Joe Godsey of Edinburgh (Modified), Tyler Cain (Super Stock), Chris Workman (Pure Stock) and Brian Mitchell (Hornet).

Lawrenceburg Speedway has two more racing programs left on their 2015 slate. Friday, the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars will invade the ‘Burg, and the following night will see the USAC National Sprint Car Series take the track. Both nights will feature the open wheel modifieds as well. The 2015 track champions at Lawrenceburg are Joss Moffatt of Columbus (Sprint Car) and Matt Hamilton (Modified).

USAC champion Elliott dies

Tony Elliott, 54, a two-time USAC National Sprint Car champion, passed away following a plane crash on Oct. 2. Elliott was the 1998 and 2000 USAC Sprint Champion and posted 26 wins in that division during his career. He also won nine USAC Midgets races, along with five USAC Silver Crown events.

He was the 1999 Indiana Sprint-Week Champion and captured the Hoosier Hundred at the Indiana Fairgrounds in Indianapolis in 2000 and 2001.

Flashback 40 years ago (1975)

Ira Bastin won the late model feature at Brownstown over Paul Crockett and Kenny Simpson. Butch Kauffman of Columbus won the hobby stock feature over Rod Harris and Gary Turner.

Johnny Robbins won the open competition feature at Twin Cities over Roger McGinty and Gary Herbert.

At Bloomington, Paul Crockett won the rainout makeup stock car feature over Don Hobbs and Bob Fleetwood. Fleetwood came back to win the regularly scheduled feature over Ernie Barrow and Horace Lake.

Local racing results

Eldora Speedway (Sunday)

Late Model feature: 1. Bobby Pierce; 2. Devin Moran; 3. Eddie Carrier Jr.; 4, Josh Rice; 5. Jon Henry.

Modified feature: 1. Jacob Hawkins; 2. David Stremme; 3. Nick Troupe; 4. Nick Hoffman; 5. Travis Stemler.

Upcoming racing schedule

Brownstown Speedway (812-358-5332)

Tonight and Sunday: Funfest.

Eldora Speedway (937-338-3815)

Tonight: All-Star Circuit of Champion Sprint Cars, NRA Sprint Invaders, BOSS Non-winged Sprints.

Lawrenceburg Speedway (812-539-4700)

Friday: World of Outlaw Sprint Cars, plus Modifieds.

Oct. 17: USAC Sprint Cars, plus Modifieds.

Kokomo Speedway (765-459-3877)

Friday: Kokomo Klash for Sprint Cars, Midgets, 600 Micro Sprints, Thunder Cars and Hornets.

Oct. 17: Kokomo Klash for Super Late Models, Modifieds, Sportsman and Hornets.