University News – December 21

Scholarships awarded in ‘SpeakEasy’ competition

Eight IUPUC communication studies students competed for scholarship funds during the biannual “SpeakEasy” competition Dec. 5 at the Columbus Learning Center.

Micah Simonton of Columbus won first place, receiving a $200 scholarship. Benjamin Walker of Columbus was second, receiving a $150 scholarship, and Megan Crenshaw was third, receiving a $100 scholarship. Each award is applied toward 2016 spring tuition.

»Student participants in the 2015 SpeakEasy were:

»Nathan Stevens, Flat Rock, Jet Engine Propulsion

»Walker, Lisbon, Portugal, Earthquake 1755

»Heather Lasley, Seymour, Bats

»Crenshaw, Infiltration of Advertising

»Elizabeth Padfield, Columbus, Online Dating

»Jonathan Gassaway, Columbus, Alexander the Great

»Simonton, The Sport of Curling

»Joseph Van Sickle, Corydon, Scotch Whiskey

Their classmates and instructors nominated the students selected for the competition based on the quality of their public speaking skills in the classroom.

Author photo
Julie McClure is assistant managing editor of The Republic. She can be reached at or (812) 379-5631.