University News – January 11

University news

Flat Rock student named to school’s president’s list

Latthaphon Lormongkol of Flat Rock was named to the Davenport University president’s list for the fall 2015 semester.To be named to the list, a student must maintain a minimum of a 3.8 grade-point average while enrolled in at least nine regular coursework credits.Belmont University announces dean’s listFour area students have been named to the dean’s list at Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee.They are Samantha Binnie, Kaden Eaton, Alexandra Leddy and Anna Miller, all of Columbus.

Eligibility is based on a minimum course load of 12 hours with a grade-point average of 3.5 with no grade below a C.

IUPUC Center for Business offering three courses

The IUPUC Center for Business and Economic Development has opened registration for three courses being offered in January. They include:Emotional Intelligence-EQI — offered 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Jan. 22, $370, examines the five components of emotional intelligence and how they relate to being an effective manager and leader. Presenter: Greg Knudson

Implementing and Managing Change — offered 9 a.m. to noon Jan. 29, $160, focusing on the primary role of the frontline supervisor and manager as a change agent. Presenter: Greg Knudson

Setting Expectations and Managing Performance — offered 1 to 4 p.m. Jan. 29, $160, talking about an approach to best practices in a customer-centric organization, including internal and external customers, building a customer service culture and developing an effective training program. Presenter: Greg Knudson

To register, visit Fifteen percent discounts are available if three or more participants from the same organization register or for individuals registering for three or more workshops.

Participants must contact CBED at 812-348-7301 or before registration to obtain the discount code.

Classes will be at IUPUC, 4601 Central Ave.

Indiana State announces dean’s list

Indiana State University has announced its dean’s list for the fall semester of 2015. To be eligible for the list, students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.Area students making the dean’s list are Logan Baker, Cody Burton, Justin Coffelt, Billy Cundiff, Brock Greiwe, Clayton Johnson, Julianne Mackey, Weston Moody, Jessica Pevlor, Mikah Rushalk and Olivia Stewart, all of Columbus; and Amber Compton of Hope.

Surgical tech program again earns accreditation

Ivy Tech Community College Columbus has earned recognition for its surgical technology program.The Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs has awarded continuing accreditation to the program.The program prepares students to earn an associate degree in surgical technology. Surgical technologists assist in surgical operations by preparing operating rooms, arranging equipment and helping doctors during surgery.

Employment of surgical technologists is projected to grow 30 percent by 2022.