History student winners announced

The 2015-16 Joseph Hart Chapter Outstanding American History Students in local middle and high schools have been announced.

The chapter honors the top three American history students in the eighth through 11th grades. All recipients receive a certificate while first-place winners receive a bronze medal and monetary award.

This year’s winners are:

  • Columbus North High School: Elijah Peters, first; Erica Le, second; and MacKenzie Geckler, third.
  • Columbus East High School: Lauren Schumacher, first; Roque Bescos Beceiros, second.
  • Northside Middle School: Ceairra Shelton, Veritas Team, first; Claire Alderfer, Titan Team, second; Natalia Martinez, Mosaic Team, third.
  • Central Middle School: Helen Rumsey, first; Jennifer Kang, second; Sierra Roberts, third.
  • St. Peter’s Lutheran School: Alison Mack, first; Salome Cloteaux, second; Allana Whiteside, third.
  • Columbus Christian School: Judah Haynes, first; Evan Reed, second; Claire Martin, third.
  • Hauser Junior High: Sam Johnson, first; Melanie Taylor, second; Carly Archer, third.
  • Hauser High School: Pete Trotter, first; Gwen Shoaf, second; Spencer Seim, third.