Twin Cities enjoys successful reopening

Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon reopened this past Saturday night with an excellent crowd of spectators and more than 100 racecars on hand to compete. The track had been idle since running one race back on April 16.

In the Super Late Model Division, Marty O’Neal of Spencer came home with the victory. O’Neal’s car is owned by Larry Hartwell of North Vernon. Joe Godsey of Edinburgh finished second to O’Neal, followed by Matt Bex of Avoca, Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh and North Vernon’s Alan Magner.

In the Pure Stock class, Troy Clark of North Vernon emerged as the feature victor. Bobby Johnson of Columbus finished second, while Mark Bruce of Commiskey, Joe Woodward of Connersville and Brian Hutt of Charlestown completed the top five drivers.

Todd Cain of Columbus won the Hornet Division feature event for the second time this year. Houston Roark came home second, followed by Jerry Gibson II, Bryson Clark of North Vernon and Tony Napier of North Vernon. Cain’s car is sponsored by Steve’s Guttering, Lee’s Garage and DrainMaster.

Tonight, Twin Cities will be back in action with a complete show for Crate Late Models, Super Stocks, Racesaver Sprints and Hornets. For more info, visit

Erb wins Eldora Dream

Dennis Erb Jr. won the 22nd annual Dirt Late Model Dream race June 11 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. In a race that saw seven lead changes, Erb had to withstand a two-lap shootout to score the biggest win of his career. Erb earned $100,000 for the victory.

Josh Richards barely edged out Dale McDowell to finish second. Defending race winner Jonathan Davenport was fourth, followed by Don O’Neal of Martinsville. O’Neal, a former winner of the event which carried a purse of more than $300,000 for the three days of racing, came from the 21st starting spot to score a top-five finish.

Devin Gilpin of Columbus made two Dream preliminary features on June 9 and 10, finishing ninth and 16th, respectively. Unfortunately, he failed to crack the starting lineup for the June 11 finale.

Westerfeld wins again

Shawn Westerfeld won his third 410 Non-Wing Sprint feature of the year on June 11th at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Garrett Abrams was second, followed by Jarett Andretti, Dallas Hewitt and Cooper Clouse.

Kyle Schornick captured the Modified feature at Lawrenceburg over Billy Vaughan, David Spille, Kyle Herbert and Scotty Kincaid.

Tim Baird took the top honors in the Hornet Division. Gage Clark was second, followed by Dalton Smith, Kyle Willoughby and Josh Hammonds.

Also at Lawrenceburg, the Pure Stock feature went to Will McRoberts. Trailing the winner were Corebin McRoberts, Eric House, Don Grace and Chris Combs.

Tonight, Lawrenceburg will host a regular show for 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, go to

Paragon sees new winners

Chris Phillips won his first Sprint Car feature of the year June 11 at the Paragon Speedway. Hunter O’Neal finished second, followed by Josh Cunningham, Anthony Leohe and Daylan Chambers.

Chris McCoy was victorious for the first time in the Super Stock Division. Rob Paris was second, followed by Winston Howe, Steve Hollars and Chris Hillman, who had won the first two features of the year.

In the Pure Stock class at Paragon, Tyler Neal was the winner. He was trailed by Mark Smith, Josh Litton, William Burton of North Vernon and Baily Hicks.

Paragon will be back in action tonight with 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Super Stocks, Bombers, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, check out

Brownstown racing tonight

After seeing its UMP Summernationals event rained out June 15, Brownstown Speedway will be racing tonight with a scheduled program consisting of the Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, go to

This week in racing history

On this weekend in 1968, Gene Petro of Columbus passed Jack Owens on the final lap to win at 25th Street Speedway in Columbus. John Warner of Columbus finished third.

Also this weekend in 1972, Russ Petro of Columbus won the Late Model feature at 25th Street Speedway. Luther Burton of Taylorsville was second, followed by Johnny Robbins, Gary Herbert and Carl Collins.

In 1976, Mike Johnson won the Sprint Car feature at Lawrenceburg over Calvin Gilstrap and Tony Solomito. Bobby Carnes won the Stock Car Feature over Don Henry and Dan Patton.

Also 40 years ago at Brownstown Speedway, Paul Crockett won the Late Model feature event. Dennis Boknecht was second, followed by Robert Earl, Gerald Dixon and Don Hobbs.

Ed Covey won the Hobby Stock main event at Brownstown over Roger Hehman and John Mull.