University News – July 2

Indiana State dean’s list

Nine local Indiana State University students made the spring semester dean’s list. They were: Logan Baker, Riley Leonard, Julianne Mackey, Bethany McCarty, Weston Moody, Jessica Pevlor, Mikah Rushalk and Olivia Stewart, all of Columbus; and Amber Compton, of Hope.

In order to be eligible for the list, students must have a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Franklin graduates

The following Columbus residents earned their bachelor’s degrees from Franklin College at the end of May:

  • Benjamin Alen Brown, journalism
  • Hillary Marie McCloskey, political science.
  • Michelle Nicole Murphy, psychology and Spanish. She graduated summa cum laude.
  • Kasandra Eileen Prohaska, public relations
  • Melissa Grace Sanders, business management and marketing
  • Jennifer Haedyn Scgalski, Spanish

Local on Olivet’s dean list

Taylor Stamper, Columbus, earned a spot on the Olivet Nazarene University dean’s list for the spring semester.

Speidel earns doctoral degree

Jamie Speidel, Columbus, earned a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from Southwest Baptist University in Bolivar, Missouri.

Area students graduate from U of I

Eight area residents graduated from University of Indianapolis during the spring 2016 commencement ceremony. They were:

  • Laiken Harper, Columbus, Bachelor of Science
  • Megan Montgomery, Columbus, Bachelor of Science
  • Hannah Moore, Columbus, Bachelor of Science with magna cum laude honors
  • Allie Smith, Columbus, Bachelor of Science with magna cum laude honors
  • Olivia Webb, Columbus, Bachelor of Science
  • Jordan Austin, Scipio, Bachelor of Science with magna cum laude honors
  • Kalieb Koelmel, Butlerville, Bachelor of Science
  • Ashley Barber, North Vernon, Bachelor of Science
Author photo
Kaitlyn Evener is an editorial assistant for The Republic. She can be reached at or 812-379-5645.