Revved up: Brownstown Speedway hosts Jackson 100 tonight

20160924cr essex jonathan davenport
Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia, is the defending Jackson 100 champion. Submitted photo

Brownstown Speedway will host its biggest event of the 2016 racing season tonight when the track presents the 37th annual Jackson 100 for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

The event will pay $20,000 to win. Tonight’s activities for the Late Models includes heat races, B-mains and the 100-lap feature. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia, is the defending winner of the race.

Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tennessee, is the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship points leader. Bloomquist is a five-time Jackson 100 winner at Brownstown.

Davenport is second in points, followed by Brandon Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Darrell Lanigan, Earl Pearson Jr., Jared Landers and Steve Francis.

Last week the Lucas Oil Late Models were at the historic Knoxville Raceway in Iowa. Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tennessee, the current track record-holder at Brownstown, won the $40,000-to-win event. Bloomquist was second, followed by Bobby Pierce, Shane Clanton and Billy Moyer.

Also racing tonight will be Modifieds and Super Stocks. For more information, visit or call 812-358-5332.

Cody Mahoney of Madison scored his third Brownstown Speedway Late Model Feature of the year on Sept. 17. Mahoney, who drives for Bryan Bowman Motorsports in Seymour, started fifth in the field. Steve Casebolt of Richmond finished in second, followed by Jeremy Hines of Seymour. Completing the top five were Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh and Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville.

In the Indiana Pro Late Model class, it was Marty O’Neal of Spencer picking up his third feature win of the season. O’Neal drives for Larry Hartwell Racing of North Vernon. Tyler Cain of Seymour finished in second. He was followed by Geraid Gault of Morgantown, Brad Barrow of Bloomington and Remington Gill from Mitchell.

Also at Brownstown on Sept. 17, Jamey Wilson of Seymour won his fifth Super Stock main event of 2016. Josh Divine of Loogootee was second, with Josh Boller of Greencastle placing third. Chris McCoy of Morgantown was fourth, and Tim Schumpe of Vallonia rounded out the top five.

In the Modified Division, Derek Groomer of Bloomington win the feature race. Jeremy Owens of North Vernon finished in second, followed by Matt Boknecht of Seymour, Jacoby Hines of Nineveh and Peyton Harlow of Glasgow, Kentucky.

Troy Clark of North Vernon came from the 19th starting position to win the Pure Stock feature race. It was Clark’s second win of the season at Brownstown. Derek Clegg of Nabb finished second, followed by Zachary Stalker of Heltonville, Mark Smith of Morgantown and Jim Ruddick of Seymour.

Lawrenceburg crowns champions

Lawrenceburg Speedway conducted its season championship races Sept. 17, when the track crowned four champions. Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford, the defending Sprint Car champion, won the 410 feature race over new track champion Jarett Andretti, Garrett Abrams, Drew Abel of North Vernon and Logan Hupp of Columbus.

Andretti, the son of former NASCAR and IndyCar driver John Andretti, scored two feature wins during the season to take his first career title. Joss Moffatt of Columbus finished second in points.

Joey Kramer of Hanover won the Modified feature at Lawrenceburg over Keith Smith, Kyle Schornick, Pete Holt and Scott Kincaid. It was Kramer’s 41st career win at the track as Kincaid captured his third title in the Modified division.

Brandon Gibson Jr. won his first Hornet Division feature event. Josh Hammond was second, followed by Blake Gibson, Gage Clark and Kenny Higbie. Clark accumulated enough points to win his first track title.

Veteran driver J.D. Largent of Aurora won the Pure Stock feature for the fifth time in 2016. He was followed to the finish line by Corebin McRoberts, Will McRoberts, Don Grace and Dalton Baird.

USAC Sprints in action

Kyle Cummins of Princeton won the “Haubstadt Hustler,” a $10,000-to-win USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature event on Sept. 17 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt. Tyler Courtney finished in second, followed by Shane Cottle, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Chase Stockon of Elizabethtown.

Friday night’s event at the Terre Haute Action Track was rained out. The “Jim Hurtubise Classic” now will be conducted Oct. 15. The USAC Sprints will be in action tonight at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway as part of the Four Crown Nationals. For more information, visit

Brady Bacon leads the USAC National Championship points standings over Robert Ballou, Chase Stockon, Thomas Meseraull and Dave Darland. The rest of the top 10 are Chad Boespflug, C.J. Leary, Chris Windom, Max McGhee and Aaron Farney. The series will be at Lawrenceburg Speedway on Oct. 1.

This week in racing history

Brownstown Speedway closed out its 1971 racing season with Chris Bradley winning the Late Model feature over Bob Fleetwood, Luther Burton of Taylorsville, John Davis and Ed Pennington.

Butch Wilkerson of Columbus won the 1976 season finale for Sprints at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Mike Johnson was second, followed by Ron Dorsett. Mike Wilkens won the Stock Car feature over Tom Wieck.

From 1986, Brownstown Speedway closed its season with two Late Model feature events. Bob Pierce won the first feature over John Gill, C.J. Rayburn, Steve Barnett and Russ Petro of Columbus. The second Late Model main went to Jim Curry over Steve Barnett, Roger Long, Kevin Claycomb and Noel Witcher.

Mike Jewell won the Modified Street Stock feature over Steve Trabue, Billy Filburn, Doc Jewell and Danny Blackwell.

Ray Humphrey won the Pure Street Stock feature over Terry Arthur, Larry Harris, Denny Campbell and Don Barnett of Columbus.

Also from 30 years ago, Twin Cities closed out its 1986 season with Jim Patterson of North Vernon winning the Late Model feature. Scott McKeand of North Vernon was second, with Columbus drivers Dick Phillips, Roger Sullivan and Willie Sallee completing the top five.

In the Street Stock Division, it was Rolla Millspaugh taking the win. Dennis Barber of North Vernon was second, followed by Mark Bruce, Merrill Wilson and Buford Burton of Edinburgh.

James Essex writes a motorsports notebook for The Republic. Send comments to