Express wins twice at soccer awards gala


Express earn Gala honors

Columbus Express Soccer Club picked up two big honors at last weekend’s Indiana Soccer Awards Gala.

Eric Marvin won the President’s Award for his diligence in logistical event support and providing housing and meeting space for participants and staff of Indiana Soccer’s tournaments the past few years. He also organized a dinner buffet for referees and coordinated event transportation and signage last year.

“It is an honor to receive this recognition from Indiana Soccer,” Marvin said in a news release. “Their events have produced millions of dollars in estimated direct visitor spending over the last few years, and we are fortunate to have such a great partnership with their organization. Of course, hosting their events would not be possible without the Columbus Express Soccer Club and the Columbus Parks and Recreation Department. This award goes to everyone involved in making these tournaments a huge success.”

CESC also won Tournament Host of the Year. The team of Chip Orben, Kenrick Ramirez, Jenny Carlson and volunteers have hosted either preliminary-round or championship State Cup games, or both, every year since 2012. Indiana soccer honored the Express for its outstanding service to teams and excellence of facilities.

“We are blessed to have great partnerships with the Columbus Visitors Center, Columbus Parks and Recreation and our strong team of club volunteers allowing us to successfully host this high-level tournament,” Orben said in the release. “Doing so allows us to showcase our fields and community, which is unexpected, but unforgettable. We look forward to hosting future tournaments with all our partners and thank Indiana Soccer for this special award.”


Swimmer wins 100 freestyle

Paxton Rush won the boys open 100-yard freestyle to lead Donner Swim Club in last weekend’s Indiana Swimming Spring Southeast Divisional Championship at Columbus North.

Rush finished in 54.48 seconds. He also took third in the 200 backstroke and 500 freestyle, fifth in the 100 backstroke and sixth in the 200 indivdiual medley.

Betsy King had a trio of runner-up finishes in the girls open division. She took second in the 100 backstroke, 100 butterfly and 200 IM and fourth in the 100 breaststroke.

In the girls 12-and-under division, Ellie Proffitt finished third in the 50 freestyle, fourth in the 500 freestyle, fifth in the 100 freestyle and 200 freestyle and 14th in the 100 backstroke. Paige Maddox took third in the 50 backstroke, sixth in the 100 backstroke and 200 freestyle, seventh in the 50 freestyle and 500 freestyle and 11th in the 100 freestyle.

Also for girls 12-and-under, Karissa Miller finished fifth in the 50 backstroke, 10th in the 50 freestyle, 14th in the 200 IM, 17th in the 100 backstroke and 23rd in the 100 freestyle. Sammi Hoovler took ninth in the 50 breaststroke, 12th in the 500 freestyle, 13th in the 200 freestyle, 20th in the 200 IM and 22nd in the 50 freestyle. Karissa Bevis was 10th in the 200 IM, 13th in the 50 backstroke, 18th in the 50 breaststroke, 19th in the 100 breaststroke, 22nd in the 100 freestyle and 26th in the 50 freestyle.

Rachel Gutman finished third in the girls open 1,650 freestyle, sixth in the 400 IM, 13th in the 500 freestyle, 15th in the 200 IM and 19th in the 200 freestyle and 50 freestyle. Ainsley Sherlock took eighth in the girls 10-and-under 100 breaststroke and 50 breaststroke.

In the girls 14-and-under division, Vaikhari Nalole finished 13th in the 200 backstroke, 15th in the 100 backstroke, 45th in the 100 freestyle and 47th in the 50 freestyle. Adeline Rush took 13th in the 100 backstroke, 15th in the 200 IM and 40th in the 100 freestyle.

Cole Ehara finished 12th in the boys 12-and-under 50 breaststroke and 19th in the 50 freestyle. Kara Buntin was 17th in the girls 10-and-under 50 freestyle.

Hoovler, Bevis, Maddox and Proffitt finished second in the girls 11-12 200 freestyle relay. Maddox, Hoovler, Abigail Castillo and Proffitt took third in the 200 medley relay.


Playoff pairings set

Darien Castetter scored two goals, including the game-winner with 4:10 left in overtime, to lift ninth-seeded Slappin’ Balls to a 3-2 win against eighth-seeded Toyota Tsunamis in the play-in game.

Todd Ebbinger had the other goal for Slappin’. Greg McNealy and Dalton McNealy scored for Tsunamis.

Slappin’ Balls will face top-seeded The Rockpile in the quarterfinals at 4:45 p.m. today. No. 2 Monsters of Rock will play No. 7 Hansons at 5:45 p.m., followed by No. 3 CCA Kutters against No. 6 Flying Zambonis at 6:45 p.m. and No. 4 Yoopers against No. 5 Our Name Is Earl at 7:45 p.m.


Bowler sweeps honors

Peggy Smith rolled the women’s high game (209) and series (558) in the Wednesday Night Mixed League. Chris Harrison had the men’s high game (257), and Jeff Brown had the men’s high series (704). C.B.C. No. 2 leads the team standings at 150-66, eight games ahead of C.B.C. No. 1.

PRO wrestling

HPW hosts ‘March Mayhem’

Hoosier Pro Wrestling hosted March Mayhem last weekend at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds. Scarecrow Eddie Felson pinned Johnathan Wolfe to keep the HPW cruiserweight belt. TJ Kemp pinned JKO.

After Drax O’Brien pinned El Rayo, Dave the Rave and O’Brien removed the mask from El Rayo, and it was Lightning Bolt, who must serve a 60-day loser-leaves-match defeat.

Cooter beat Dave the Rave, Flash Flanagan pinned Shawn Kemp and Doink the Clown pinned Kid Thunder. “AXEMEN” Clint Poe and Marc Houston beat TVZ to become the new HPW tag champions.

HPW returns to the fairgrounds April 1.