Colton Sullivan of Columbus won his first career super stocks feature April 15 at Brownstown Speedway when the track played host to 111 total racecars and a packed grandstand.

Sullivan won the main event for his class over Jason Hehman of Brownstown, Josh Divine of Loogootee, Steve Hollars of Bloomington and Tim Schumpe of Vallonia.

Sullivan’s car is sponsored by Black Widow Fabrication, The Brick of Jonesville, J.P. Slick and Hair in Motion.

In the Indiana Pro Late Model Series feature, Justin Shaw of Whiteland won his first career feature race at Brownstown. Shaw is the grandson of the legendary chassis builder and driver C.J. Rayburn.

Defending track champion Marty O’Neal of Spencer finished second, with Brad Barrow of Bloomington taking third place. Rounding out the top five were Remington Gill of Mitchell and Tyler Cain of Seymour.

Matt Boknecht of Seymour won the modifieds feature race at Brownstown. Matt Tiller of Bloomington finished behind Boknecht at the finish. Rick Gumm of Tampico, Ernie Gingerich of Bunker Hill and Chad Combs of Bloomington completed the top five.

Tim Rivers of Salem was the top driver in the pure stocks division, taking home the feature event. Derek Clegg of Nabb, Jason Combs of Seymour, Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee and Zachary Stalker of Heltonville trailed Rivers across the line.

Seymour’s Donnie Modesty won the first hornets feature of the year, taking the win over Daniel Hobbs of Bloomington, John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh, A.J. Hobbs of Bloomington and Brian Moore of Bedford.

Brownstown will be hosting a regular show tonight with super late models, Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For more info, visit

Twin Cities opens new season

Twin Cites Raceway Park in Vernon opened its 2017 racing season under new promoter Tim Keithley on April 15. There were five classes of racing on hand, with an outstanding crowd on hand in the grandstand.

Jeremy Hines of Seymour won the crate late models feature event in a car owned by Kyle Ault of Seymour. Trent Low of North Vernon finished second, with Curt Bennett of Clarksville, Bodi Henry of Scipio and Brian Shewmaker of Columbus rounding out the top five.

Jeremy Owens of North Vernon overtook Elizabethtown’s Jerry Adams on the final lap to win the modifieds feature event. Bryson Clark of North Vernon was third, with Richie Lex of Morgantown and Mike Bechelli of Elizabethtown completing the top five drivers.

Columbus’ Randy Petro won his first super stocks feature of the year in his first attempt of the new season. Steve Peeden of Paragon placed second, with Danny Hupp of Scipio claiming third. The rest of the top five were Troy Clark of North Vernon and Craig Markel of Columbus.

Troy Clark did double duty on Saturday at Twin Cities, racing in the super stocks class and in the pure stocks division, where he captured the main event. Houston Roark of Dupont finished in the runner-up position, with Corebin McRoberts of Dupont taking third. William Burton of North Vernon and Mark Hines of Scipio finished out the top-five drivers.

Cody Perry of North Vernon took the top honors in the hornets division, winning the feature event over Tony Napier of North Vernon, Darren Batchelor, Trent Adams of Elizabethtown and Austin Perry of North Vernon.

Racing will continue tonight at Twin Cities with crate late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For further info, visit

Bilbee wins Lawrenceburg

Nick Bilbee of Indianapolis won the 410 non-win sprint-car feature on April 15 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. It was his first ever win at the track. Michael Fischesser and Jordan Kinser completed the top three.

Kyle Schornick won the modifieds main event. Danny Eichler captured the pure stocks, and Cordell Moore won the hornets main event.

Tonight, Lawrenceburg hosts the 410 non-wing sprints, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For further info, visit

USAC visits Bloomington

Bloomington Speedway finally got its first race of the season in the books on April 14. On hand was the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series for their first visit of the year.

The feature race came down to the final laps between Chad Boespflug and Chris Windom. The two-battled side-by-side until the checkered flag flew, with Boespflug just edging out Windom for this first win for the Hoffman Racing Team entry.

Trailing Boespflug and Windom to the checkers were former Elizabethtown resident Chase Stockon, Justin Grant and Kevin Thomas Jr. Completing the top 10 were Brady Short, Jeff Bland Jr., Kyle Cummins, Brent Beauchamp and Nick Bilbee.

Boespflug is the son of Todd and Monica Boespflug of Seymour. His grandparents, Bob and Phyliss Gatten, live in Columbus.

In preliminary action, C.J. Leary set the fast time for the 34 entrants. Heat races were won by Beauchamp, Tyler Courtney, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Tyler Thomas. Stockon won the semi-feature.

Bloomington Speedway will be back in action on Friday with the JB Robinson Memorial Race.

On the race program will be the American Modified Series, 410 sprints and RaceSaver sprints. For more info, visit

Tables turned at Haubstadt

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series headed to Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt on April 15. Windom turned the tables on Chad Boespflug, this time beating Boespflug to the finish line after Boespflug had done the same thing to him the night before at Bloomington.

Justin Grant finished third in the feature at Haubstadt, with Brady Short and Carson Short completing the top five. The rest of the top-10 finishers were Jarett Andretti, Aaron Farney, Max McGhee. Kevin Thomas Jr. and C.J. Leary.

Andretti was the fastest qualifier among the 31 cars on hand. Heat-race winners were Chase Stockon, Boespflug, Leary and Windom. Kyle Cummins won the semi-feature.

Eldora opens season

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, opened its 64th season of racing on April 15.

Acclaimed modifieds racer Nick Hoffman won his first career Late Model Feature by taking the $2,000 victory over Bloomington’s Kent Robinson. Hoffman’s car is owned by Jones Oil Company in Shoals.

Jacob Hawkins, driving Duane Chamberlain’s car, finished third after starting 11th. Jon Henry was fourth, and Jeff Babcock rounded out the top five. Hawkins won the modifieds main event.

Overton tops Florence

Brandon Overton won the late-models feature on April 15 at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky.

Overton took home $5,000 for winning the Schaeffer’s Racing Oil Spring Nationals event. Mike Marlar came home in second, followed by Devin Moran, Eric Wells and Michael Chilton. Mitchell’s John Gill won the companion crate late models feature race.