Area state troopers honored for efforts

Four Indiana State Police troopers from the Versailles Post were honored during an awards ceremony in Indianapolis.

Troopers statewide were honored for performing their jobs with integrity, service and professionalism, and going above and beyond the call of duty.

The Versailles Post serves 10 counties, including Bartholomew, Jennings and Jackson. Its troopers who received awards were:

Senior Trooper Randel Miller: Named the 2016 Indiana State Police-Versailles District Trooper of the Year. The 10-year veteran and his K-9 partner Jinx patrol the district’s roadways, and Miller is regularly among the district leaders in criminal arrests.

Trooper Travis Linville: The five-year veteran received a Combat Action Award. It was for his actions on Oct. 28, 2016. Linville responded with officers from the Ripley County Sheriff’s Department and Indiana State Excise Police to a domestic disturbance at a residence in Holton. At one point a male suspect exited the residence and fired at the officers. Linville remained poised and returned fire. The suspect re-entered the residence before ultimately surrendering hours later.

Trooper Christopher Lockman: The six-year veteran received a Lifesaving Award for his actions on Feb. 19, 2017, in Jackson County. Lockman, the assistant squad leader of the South Zone Dive Team, along with the Jackson County Sheriff’s Department, successfully rescued two people who were stranded in a capsized boat in the White River near Seymour.

Trooper Korry Clark: The eight-year veteran received an award for being the Versailles District’s DUI Enforcement Trooper of the Year for 2016. Last year, Clark arrested 79 intoxicated drivers while patrolling Bartholomew and Jackson counties.

All who received awards were given plaques to recognize their achievements.