The Home School team won the overall trophy at Saturday’s 27th annual Junior Solar Sprint design and racing competition for middle school students.

Runner-up among the 10 schools in the 47-entry event was St. Peter’s. The eight other participating schools were Central, Columbus Christian, Hauser, Franklin, Northside, St. Bartholomew, St. Mark and Taylorsville.

Students in the competition sponsored by Cummins Inc. are given a solar panel and a motor. They work with teachers and engineer volunteers to build small solar cars, Junior Solar Sprint director Justin Owen said.

Story continues below gallery

Click here to purchase photos from this gallery

Jennifer Rumsey, vice president and chief technology officer for Cummins, welcomed 118 participating students (65 boys and 53 girls) and about 100 parents, teachers and other onlookers at Northside Middle School.

Here are the results.


First place: Noah Sherman and Thomas Leuhrmann, Home SchoolSecond place: Samridhi Lamba and Yestika Nischol, Central

Third place: Clare Hauersperger and Clare Lindberg, Home School

Finalist: Kate Russell and Juan Orozco, St. Bartholomew

Finalist: Anushka Nair, Kaylin DeHart and Ramya Kondapi, Northside

Design process: Noah Sherman and Thomas Leuhrmann, Home School


First place: Clare Hauersperger and Clare Lindberg, Home SchoolSecond place: Chad Kelly and Logan Cline, St. Peter’s

Third place: Peter Walden and Caleb Grore, St. Mark

Finalist: Ana Arre and Jessica Meza, St. Bartholomew

Finalist: Ricardo Roman and Jack Schiavello, St. Bartholomew


People’s Choice: Amber Johnson, Cody York and Audrey Culp, Franklin

Best Team Name: Lance Bruer, Evan Shake and Cade Whittington (The Dark Soul), Hauser

Hard Luck Award: Blake Day and James Thomack, St. Peter’s

Recycled Material: Lance Bruer, Evan Shake and Cade Whittington, Hauser

Team Spirit: Home School