Devin Gilpin of Columbus had a spectacular night on June 3 at Brownstown Speedway.

Gilpin drove his modified to the special $1,500-to-win main event over Victor Lee of Danville, Kentucky. Lee hounded Gilpin the entire race, and Gilpin never managed more than a two-car length lead. Trent Young of Hopkinsville, Kentucky, finished in third, with Tim Prince of Heltonville and Jeremy Owens of North Vernon completing the top five.

Gilpin came back to outduel Edinburgh’s Chad Stapleton to win the super late model feature race. Jared Bailey of Bedford came home in third, followed by Jeff Wilson of Butlerville and Marty O’Neal of Spencer.

Gilpin’s Sweet-Bloomquist late model is powered by a Mike Shell Racing Engine and sponsored by Vallery Motorsports, Dasco Racing Supply, Valley and T.J. Hancock Core Supplies, Penske Shocks, Bane Logging, Scott Sales and Service, TomCat Performance, Brown Oil Services, GottaRace and IndSolTech.

Marty O’Neal captured his second straight Indiana Pro Late Model main event over Steve Godsey of Bedford, Justin Shaw of Whiteland, Remington Gill from Mitchell and Jeremy Hines of Seymour.

Steve Peeden of Paragon won the super stock feature at Brownstown. Tim Schumpe of Vallonia finished in second, with Jamey Wilson of Seymour claiming third. Tim Eddelman of Taylorsville was fourth, and Aaron Fields of Seymour was fifth.

Jason Combs of Seymour made it two in a row in pure stock feature over Tim Rivers of Salem, Josh Hayes of Seymour, Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee and Zachary Stalker of Heltonville.

Tonight, there will be no racing in any of the regular divisions, but in front of the main grandstand will be Monster Trucks, Quad Wars and UTV races. Then on June 14 will be the UMP Summernationals event paying $5,000-to-win for super late models. Also competing will be modifieds and super stocks. For more info, visit

Erwin wins at Twin Cities

Brad Erwin of Crothersville won the crate late model feature on June 3 at Twin Cites Raceway Park in Vernon. Mark Barber of North Vernon finished second, followed by Jim Couch of Hamilton, Ohio; Tyson Banks of Bedford and Brian Shewmaker of Columbus.Tonight, the track will host the Mark Clark Memorial for super stocks paying $1,000 to win. Also racing will be the crate late models, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

Busy night at Bloomington

Brady Short of Bedford won the sprint car feature on June 2 at Bloomington Speedway. Max McGhee of Camby was second, and Elizabethtown’s Dakota Jackson finished third, Completing the top five were Jordan Kinser of Bedford and Kody Swanson of Kingsburg, California.Jared Fox of Bloomington won the RaceSaver sprint-car feature over Ryan Tusing of Santa Claus, Jeff Bland Jr. of Bedford, Ethan Barrow of Unionville and Kendall Ruble of Vincennes.

Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville won the Indiana Late Model Series race after passing Tyler Cain of Seymour late in the race. Chad Stapleton was third with Marty O’Neal and Jeremy Hines rounding out the top five.

Paragon results

Kerry Kinser of Solsberry and Brandon Morin of Jasonville won the sprint-car feature events on June 3 at Paragon Speedway. Other winners included Greg Garrison of Bloomington (Hornets), Mike Swango (Pure Stocks), and Winston Howe of Bloomington (Super Stocks).

Eldora hosts Dream finale tonight

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, will host night No. 3 of the Dream XXIII tonight. On the race schedule tonight for late models will be heat races, N-mains and a 100-lap $100,000-to-win main event. For ticket info, visit

Lawrenceburg racing tonight

After taking last weekend off, Lawrenceburg Speedway will be back in action tonight with the USAC Midgets, 410 non-wing sprint cars and modifieds. For more info, visit

This week in racing history

Fifty years ago, in 1967, Paul Crockett won the late model feature at 25th Street Speedway in Columbus. Crockett outdueled Jack Owens for the win.Also from 1967, Don Murphy won the late model feature at Brownstown. Gene Sutton was second, with Jim Haley finishing third. Dennis Bingham and Don Cockerham completed the top five.

Crockett won the late model feature on this weekend in 1977 after race leader Ira Bastin suffered a flat tire on the white flag lap. Terrence Johnson finished in second, followed by John Davis, Gary Herbert and Kenny Harden.

Steve Trabue won the hobby stock main event over Dusty Chapman, Terry Shirley, Kenny Mize of Columbus and Theron Straley.

Dick Gaines won the sprint car feature at Bloomington in 1977. Randy Kinser was second, followed by Ron Dorsett, Bob Kinser and Johnny Krebbs.

Steve Sutliff won the hobby stock feature race over Don Duncan, Russ Petro of Columbus, Horace Lake and Herman Burton of Columbus

Gaines won the night before at Paragon Speedway over Bernie Graybeal, Larry Miller, Chet Johnson and Tony Solomito.

Also from 40 years ago, Bud Seymour won the hobby stock feature at Twin Cities. Dee Kramer was second, and Phil Fultz of Clifford finished third. Columbus drivers Powell Ballard and Troy Burton completed the top five drivers.

In 1987 at Twin Cities, Darrell Smallwood of Columbus won the late model feature over Dill Whittymore, Gary Cooksey, Robert Brison of North Vernon and Mike Gibbs.

Mark Bruce won the street stock main event at Twin Cities over Jeff Daugherty, Buford Burton of Edinburgh, Mark Clark of North Vernon and Fultz.

Also from 30 years ago, Bob Pierce won the late model feature at Brownstown. Ray Godsey was second and Don Hobbs finished in third. Completing the top five were Kevin Claycomb and Steve Barnett.

Larry Harris from Bloomington won the street stock main at Brownstown. Gary Trammell was second, and Tony Ogle from Columbus placed third. Steve Kimberlin and Lee Hobbs rounded out the top five.

James Essex writes a motorsports notebook for The Republic.
Send comments to