Billy Moyer took the lead on Lap 37 and went on to win the 40-lap $5,000 UMP Summernationals kickoff on Wednesday at Brownstown Speedway. It was Moyer’s 819th win of his Hall-of-Fame racing career that began in 1977.

Cody Mahoney of Madison finished second in the Bowman Motorsports entry from Seymour. Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg finished third, and Boggs was fourth. Steve Casebolt of Richmond rounded out the top five drivers in a car owned by Jim Beeman of North Vernon.

Other winners at Brownstown included Devin Gilpin of Columbus, who captured the modifieds main event. Earl Plessinger of Scottsburg was second, with Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Kentucky, claiming third. Josh Harris of Utica, Kentucky, was fourth, and Matt Boknecht of Seymour was fifth.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour took the super stocks feature event. Steve Peeden of Paragon was second, with Aubrey Eagan of Bedford coming home in third. Aaron Fields of Seymour was fourth, and Taylorsville’s Tim Eddelman finished in fifth.

At Brownstown tonight will be a scheduled program of Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, super stocks, hornets and a pure stocks special event. For more info, visit

Twin Cities results

Eddelman won the Mark Clark Memorial Race on June 10 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon.

The win was his first in the annual event and worth $1,000. Jeremy Hines of Seymour won the crate late models feature.

Donnie Modesty of Seymour won the hornets feature. Jeremy Owens of North Vernon took top honors in the modifieds feature. Troy Clark of North Vernon won the pure stocks main event.

Tonight, Twin Cities will host a regular program with crate late models, super stocks, hornets, modifieds and non-winged MMSA. For more info, visit

Courtney wins at Bloomington

Tyler Courtney was victorious in the USAC Midget Week feature on June 9 at Bloomington Speedway. Justin Grant came home in the second spot, and Shane Golobic was third. Completing the top five were Jerry Coons Jr. and Chad Boat.

Brady Short of Bedford made it two in a row at Bloomington by winning the 410 non-wing sprint-car feature. Jordan Kinser also of Bedford placed second, with another Bedford driver, Jeff Bland Jr., taking third. Ethan Fleetwood of Smithville and Max McGhee of Camby rounded out the top five.

Ryan Tusing of Santa Claus topped the field in winning the RaceSaver sprint car main event. Andy Bradley of Bloomington finished in second, and Jared Fox also from Bloomington was third. Kendall Ruble of Vincennes was fourth, and Jeff Bland Jr. took fifth.

Bloomington Speedway will host a regular racing program on Friday with 410 non-wing sprints, super stocks and modifieds racing. For more info, visit

Abreu wins at Lawrenceburg for Kunz

Rico Abreu won the USAC Midget Week special at the Lawrenceburg Speedway on June 10. Abreu led a sweep of the podium by Keith Kunz Racing of Columbus. The California native was followed across the finish line by teammates Tanner Thorson and Holly Shelton. Shane Golobic was fourth, and Tyler Courtney took fifth.

In the regular 410 non-wing sprint-car feature, Kevin Thomas Jr. won the feature event over Dave Darland, C.J. Leary, Nick Bilbee and Jordan Kinser.

Former modifieds track champion Matt Hamilton returned to Victory Lane at Lawrenceburg by winning his division’s feature race. Brad Wieck was second, with Scotty Kincaid placing third. Completing the top five were Kyle Herbert and Ryan Bross.

Coming up tonight at Lawrenceburg will be a regular show consisting of 410 non-sprints, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

Stockon wins at Haubstadt

Former Elizabethtown resident Chase Stockon won the MSCS sprint-car feature on June 10 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt. Carson Short finished second, and Robert Ballou was third. Brady Short the winner on Friday Night at Bloomington was fourth, and Donny Burkett was fifth.

Sunday night, Tri-State hosts the UMP Summernationals for late models, paying $5,000 to win.

Bloomquist wins seventh Dream title

Scott Bloomquist grabbed the lead on Lap 55 and pulled away from the field to win his seventh Dirt Late Model Dream on June 10 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. Bloomquist earned $100,000 for the victory.

Brandon Sheppard finished second, followed by Brandon Overton. Tim McCreadie was fourth, and Chris Madden finished in fifth. Completing the top 10 were Dale McDowell, Jimmy Mars, Mike Marlar, Earl Pearson Jr. and Zack Dohm.

Don O’Neal of Martinsville was 16th, and his 16-year-old son Hudson was 18th in his first career Dream race. Kent Robinson of Bloomington, who sat on the outside of the front row to start the race, was 17th in the final rundown.

Devin Gilpin of Columbus made two Eldora preliminary events on June 8 and 9. He recorded finishes of 18th and 19th . A total of 79 cars were entered for the weekend.

Tonight, Eldora hosts the Arctic Cat All-Star Circuit of Champion Sprint Cars for the Ohio Sprint Week.

For more info, visit

This week in racing history

Ken “Hillbilly” Ogle of Columbus and Jon Peddie were feature winners at Twin Cities on this weekend in 1967.

Also from 50 years ago, in 1967 at Brownstown Speedway, Ray Godsey won the late models feature race. Gene Sutton was second, and Dick Jones finished in third. Rounding out the top five were Dennis Bingham and Gene Petro of Columbus.

From 1977, Bobby Black of Taylorsville won the sprint-car feature at Bloomington Speedway. Scott Taskey from Columbus took the top spot in the hobby stocks class. Larry Miller won the sprint car feature at Paragon.

Also from 40 years ago in 1977, Dennis Boknecht won the late models feature at Brownstown. Gerald Dixon was second, and Don Hobbs took third.

Rick Haven was victorious in the hobby stocks main at Brownstown over Phil Fultz and Jim Lawson.

From 30 years ago in 1987, Dill Whittymore won the late models feature at Twin Cities. Mike Gibbs was second, and Marty O’Neal finished third. Sam Murphy and Darrel Smallwood of Columbus completed the top five.

Phil Fultz of Clifford won the street stocks main event at Twin Cities. Mark Barber of North Vernon was second, with Jeff Wilson, Jeff Daugherty and Mark Clark of North Vernon completing the top five drivers.

Also in 1987 at Brownstown, Jack Boggs won the Hoosier Dirt Classic feature event. John Mason finished second, with John Gill, Don Hobbs and Ray Guss Jr. completing the top five.

Randy Petro of Columbus took home the win in the street stocks main event. Larry Harris was second, and Mark Arthur finished third. Joe Johnson of North Vernon and Terry Arthur completed the top five competitors.