LINCOLN, Neb. — Gov. Pete Ricketts has named a four-member committee to help him select a new Nebraska State Patrol Superintendent.

The committee unveiled Friday is comprised of Omaha Police Chief Todd Schmaderer, who will serve as chairman; retired FBI executive Weysan Dun; former U.S. attorney Deb Gilg; and Hall County Public Defender Gerry Piccolo.

Committee members will seek and vet candidates to replace former Col. Brad Rice, who was fired last month in the midst of an internal review that found “inappropriate conduct” among the patrol’s senior staff. Six other employees were placed on paid administrative leave.

Officials have not disclosed everything from the ongoing review. It began after officers were accused of changing their story about a crash that killed a South Dakota driver during a high-speed chase.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.