For the second time this season, Columbus’ Devin Gilpin swept both the super late models and modifieds feature events on the same night July 1 at Brownstown Speedway.

Gilpin won the $5,000-to-win Born Free 40 for the MARS Late Model Series, earning the victory over Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Kentucky; Tanner English of Benton, Kentucky; Cody Mahoney of Madison and Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg.

Gilpin then was victorious in the $1,500-to-win American Modified Series race. Brian Shaw of Robinson, Illinois, was second, with Josh Harris of Utica, Kentucky, taking third. Completing the top five were Jeremy Owens of North Vernon and Jacoby Hines of Nineveh. It was Gilpin’s sixth modifieds feature win of the year at Brownstown.

Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh won his first Indiana Pro late models feature of the year after apparent winner Marty O’Neal was disqualified for a spoiler height violation. Tyler Cain of Seymour was then moved up to second in the official finishing order, with Jeremy Hines of Seymour, Steven Godsey of Bedford and John Gill of Mitchell rounding out the top five.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour won the super stocks main event for the fourth time this season over Colton Sullivan of Columbus, Tim Eddelman of Taylorsville, Jason Hehman of Brownstown and Tim Schumpe of Vallonia.

Kevin Applegate of North Vernon scored his first pure stocks win of the season at Brownstown by taking the top honors in the main event. Derek Clegg of Nabb finished second, with Tory Routier of Edinburgh finishing third. The rest of the top five finishers were Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee and Zachary Stalker of Heltonville.

Coming up tonight at Brownstown will be the Scott Patman Tribute, a special event honoring the memory of one of the top street stocks and modifieds drivers in the track’s history. On the race program will be super stocks, Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, pure stocks and MMSA mini-sprints.

For more info, visit

Twin Cities

English, after his runner-up finish at Brownstown the night before, came back Sunday to win the super late models feature event at Twin Cities Raceway in Vernon. Mahoney was second, with Steve Casebolt of Richmond taking third place. Jeff Wilson of Butlerville was fourth, with Caleb Ashby of Cunningham, Tennessee, finishing fifth.

Other feature winners included Randy Petro of Columbus (super stocks), Jacoby Hines (modifieds), Gregg O’Neill II of Mooresville (hornets) and Mark Hines of Scipio (pure stocks).

Twin Cities has a scheduled night off from racing competition tonight. The next scheduled race is July 15. For more info, visit

Lawrenceburg results

Lucas Lee scored the big win for the modifieds July 1 at Lawrenceburg Speedway, winning the Merrill Downey Memorial feature worth $4,444. Derek Groomer of Bloomington was second, with Brad Wieck, Joey Kramer and Matt Hamilton trailing him across the finish line.

Nick Latham won the super late models division feature race over Robby Hensley, Kody Evans, James Rice and Bill Sheets.

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be back in action Sunday night with the third leg of the 2017 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Indiana Sprint Week. Also racing will be modifieds. For more info, visit

USAC sprint week gets started

The 2017 edition of the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series Indiana Speedweek kicked off Friday night at Gas City/I-69 Speedway. The series will continue tonight at Kokomo Speedway and Sunday night at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Next week’s schedule includes Wednesday (Terre Haute), Thursday (Putnamville), Friday (Bloomington) and July 15 (Haubstadt). For more information, visit

Local team preps for Indy

Elizabethtown- and Columbus-based Jim Howe Motorsports LLC will compete this weekend in the inaugural USAC-sanctioned “Battle at the Brickyard” go-kart race at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway facility.

JHM is the father-and-son team of Gene and Jim Howe, both long-time veterans in the local and national racing scene.

The kart team was formed in 2000 when Christina Howe, then 16, wanted to go racing. Since then, the team has fielded a variety of youngsters, serving as a developmental program for kids. The current driver is 14-year-old Jordan Fresher of Avon. He’s in his second year with the team.

This is the first year for USAC to offer a karting division in addition to its more familiar midget, sprint and Silver Crown divisions. And the first-time ever for the karts at IMS on a one-mile track that utilizes part of the oval, infield road course, and infield service roads.

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago in 1967 at Bloomington Speedway, Don Nordhorn took the feature event for supermodifieds. Bob Kinser was second with Mike Johnson, Larry Miller and Richard Jackson completing the top five.

Also from 1967, Jack Owens won the late models feature race at Brownstown. Gene Petro of Columbus was second. Jim Reichenba was third, with Bearcat Chaplin of North Vernon finishing in fourth and Jim Haley completing the top five drivers.

From 40 years ago in 1977, Bobby Black of Taylorsville won the sprint cars feature at Bloomington over Mike Johnson, Louie Meyer III, Ron Dorsett and Johnny Krebbs.

Also from 1977, Allen Barr of Columbus won the sprint-car main event at Paragon. Bobby Black was second, with Bob Christian taking third. Dick Gaines and Mike Johnson rounded out the top five.

Russ Petro of Columbus won the hobby stocks feature the same night at Bloomington. Chuck Gilpin of Columbus was second, with Gary Barrow third. Columbus drivers Butch Bland and Bill Smith completed the top five.

From this weekend in 1977 at Brownstown Speedway, Bob Fleetwood was the late models feature winner. John Davis finished in second, followed by Dennis Boknecht. Paul Crockett and Jim Curry completed the top five.

Roger Hehman was victorious in the hobby stocks feature at Brownstown over Stan Wiggam, Tony Moore, Powell Ballard of Columbus and Russ Smiley.

From 30 years ago in 1987, Pat Patrick won the late models feature at Brownstown. Don Hobbs finished second, with Jim Curry, John Gill and Bob Pierce completing the top five competitors.

Joe Johnson of North Vernon won the street stocks feature the same night over Jeff Daugherty, Larry Harris, Mike Fields and Ray Hughes from North Vernon.

Also from 1987, Rick Ungar won the sprint-cars feature at Bloomington, outdistancing Andy Hillenburg, Mickey Smith, Alan Brown and Dave Feese for the win. Denny Campbell won the street stocks main.

Author photo
Ted Schultz is sports editor for The Republic. He can be reached at or 812-379-5628.