The 2017 AMSOIL USAC Indiana Sprint Week wrapped up July 16 with a rainout make-up event at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville. Robert Ballou would win the final event of the week as he outlasted Tyler Courtney, Chad Boespflug, Brady Short and Kevin Thomas Jr. With his fifth-place finish, Thomas clinched the Indiana Sprint Week Championship.

Justin Grant finished sixth at Putnamville followed by Josh Hodges, Aaron Farney, Chris Windom and Dave Darland.

Final 2017 AMSOIL USAC Indiana Sprint Week points standings. 1 Kevin Thomas Jr. 2. Robert Ballou 3. Tyler Courtney 4. Thomas Meseraull 5. Chris Windom

On July 14, Bloomington Speedway played host to the Indiana Sprint Week as Kevin Thomas Jr. came home the victor. Chad Boespflug finished second followed by Tyler Thomas, Lee Underwood and Robert Ballou.

Completing the top 10 were defending track champion, Jeff Bland Jr., Chris Windom, Tyler Courtney, Chase Stockon and Brady Short.

Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown was victorious in the 305 RaceSaver sprint-car feature event at Bloomington. Luke Bland of Bloomington was second, with Ryan Tusing of Santa Claus finishing in third. Jared Fox of Bloomington and Danny Clark of Newburgh completed the top five.

Bloomington’s next event will be July 28 with the sprints, super stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

On July 15, the Indiana Sprint Week series ventured to the Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt. Kyle Cummins would pass Kevin Thomas Jr. on the final turn of the last lap for the win. Tyler Courtney finished in third place followed by Justin Grant and Thomas Meseraull.

Rounding out the top 10 at Haubstadt were Robert Ballou, Jarett Andretti, Chad Boespflug, Ryan Bernal and Carson Short.

Schatz takes Kings Royal at Eldora

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, hosted he 34th annual Kings Royal on July 15. Donny Schatz won the $50,000-to-win event over his Tony Stewart/Curb Agajanian teammate Christopher Bell.

The event drew 53 cars that raced before a reported record Kings Royal crowd.

Brad Sweet finished third followed by Cole Duncan and Ryan Smith. Completing the top 10 were Lee Jacobs, Chad Kemenah, Daryn Pittman, Kraig Kinser of Bloomington and Sheldon Haudenschild.

Chilton wins at Brownstown

Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Kentucky, won the Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass late-model feature on July 15 at the Brownstown Speedway. Marty O’Neal of Spencer came from the 11th starting spot to finish second in the Larry Hartwell-owned car. Devin Gilpin from Columbus came home in third with Joe Godsey of Edinburgh taking fourth. Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg rounded out the top five.

Devin Gilpin of Columbus came from the 22nd starting spot to win his seventh modified feature of the year. At Brownstown. Ryan Thomas of Seymour was second with Jeremy Owens of North Vernon finishing in third. Completing the top five were Victor Lee of Danville, Kentucky and Jacoby Hines of Nineveh.

Steven Godsey of Bedford won his first Indiana Pro late model series main event of the season. Shelby Miles of Bloomington finished second with Marty O’Neal taking third. Edinburgh’s Chad Stapleton was fourth and Tyler Cain from Seymour was fifth.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour raced to his fifth super stocks feature of the year at Brownstown. Josh Divine of Loogootee and Aubrey Eagan of Bedford finished second and third. The rest of the top five were Jack Frye of Bloomington and Colton Sullivan of Columbus.

In the pure stocks feature, Seymour’s Jason Combs took win No. 4 on the year. Tim Rivers of Salem was second and Derek Clegg of Nabb was third. Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee and Josh Hayes of Seymour rounded out the top five.

The Brownstown Speedway will not be racing tonight due to the Jackson County Fair setup. Racing will resume during the fair July 27 with the Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and hornets. Then on July 29 to conclude the fair activities, it will be the Paul Crockett Memorial for super late models. Also racing will be modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For more information, visit

Twin Cities results

Mark Barber of North Vernon won his second crate late model feature of the year on July 15 at the Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Other feature winners were Davey Waggoner Jr. of North Vernon (super stocks), Donnie Modesty of Seymour (hornets) and Troy Clark of North Vernon (pure stocks).

Twin Cities will race tonight, consisting of crate late models, super stocks, pure stocks, hornets and 305 RaceSaver sprints. For more info, visit

Lawrenceburg racing tonight

After a weekend off from its regular racing schedule, the Lawrenceburg Speedway picks up the remainder of its July schedule with a regular show tonight of 410 non-wing sprint cars, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For more information, visit

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago in 1967 Don Nordhorn won his third straight supermodified feature at the Bloomington Speedway. Bob Kinser was second followed by Dick Gaines, Calvin Gilstrap and Larry Miller.

At Brownstown from 1967 Jim Haley won the late model feature over Mac Vails of Columbus and Gene Sutton. Dick Gaines won the special event held for sprint cars.

From 40 years ago in 1977 Dee Kramer won his second straight hobby stock main event at Twin Cities. Jim Lawson finished in second followed by Troy Burton of Columbus, Phil Fultz of Clifford and Bruce Steinert.

From 1977 Ira Bastin won his second straight late model feature at Brownstown. Steve Trabue finished in second followed by Roger Absher, Ron Wright and Lump Colwell.

Darrell Smallwood of Columbus was victorious in the hobby stock main event at Brownstown. Mac Pace was second with Dusty Chapman, Theron Straley and Butch Isaacs completing the top five drivers.

From 30 years ago in 1987 Rodney Ritter Jr. won the sprint car feature at Bloomington over Joe Gaerte, Rick Hood, Ron Milton and Bob Kinser. Larry Harris won the street stock main event

At Brownstown in 1987 John Gill won the late model feature race over Ray Godsey, Jim Curry, Bob Pierce and Dusty Chapman.

Joe Johnson of North Vernon won the street stock feature at Brownstown. Ray Hughes of North Vernon was second with Mike Fields, Steve Kimberlin and Scott Patman completing the top five.