MONTPELIER, Vt. — Vermont has announced this year’s agricultural hall of fame inductees.

The Vermont Agency of Agriculture says they are: Rupert and Muriel Chamberlin, former dairy farmers and well-known Jersey breeders; Ray and Pam Allen, apple growers and agritourism leaders; and Claude Bourbeau, a former dairy farmer and leader in dairy issues.

Organizers say they were chosen based on their accomplishments and significant contributions to Vermont agriculture.

The nominees will be honored at an Aug. 30 ceremony at the Champlain Valley Exposition in Essex Junction.

The Hall of Fam started in 2003 and has honored over 70 Vermonters so far.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.