BISMARCK, N.D. — Several American Indian tribes in the Dakotas are eligible for a federal program to return land on reservations to tribal control.

The buyback program was initiated by the Obama administration and has already spent $1.2 billion to purchase parcels of land with multiple owners and transfer them to tribal governments.

The Interior Department has announced a plan for doling out the remaining $540 million.

Tribes eligible in the Dakotas are the Three Affiliated Tribes and four Sioux tribes — Standing Rock, Spirit Lake, Cheyenne River and Rosebud.

The buyback program resulted from a lawsuit that alleged U.S. officials for decades mismanaged trust money held on behalf of hundreds of thousands of Indians.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.