SALT LAKE CITY — Gun enthusiasts are upset with the way Utah implemented a $20 increase in fees for first-time concealed weapons permit holders.
The state Bureau of Criminal Identification, which issues the permits, increased the fee on Aug. 1 to $57 for Utah residents and to $67 for out-of-staters.
The National Rifle Association and the Utah Shooting Sports Council plan to attend an Administrative Rules Review Committee meeting on Thursday to express concerns. Bureau of Criminal Identification officials were summoned to attend the meeting and explain the fee increase.
The groups say the Bureau of Criminal Identification lacks the authority to raise fees on its own and should have sought legislative approval.
The Bureau states it hasn’t raised fees, but is adding on a $20 fingerprint background check fee authorized by the Legislature.