Staff Reports

In its 43rd year, Bill Monroe’s Bluegrass Hall of Fame & Uncle Pen Days Festival returns to Brown County Wednesday through Saturday.

More than 30 bands during the four-day festival, which also includes vocal, music, and instrument workshops, around-the-clock jam sessions, camping, food and the induction of Tony Rice into the Bluegrass Hall of Fame.

As always, the festival will pay tribute to the late Bill Monroe while also showcasing some of the top bluegrass performers of today.

Story continues below gallery

Acoustic guitarist Tony Rice — known for bluegrass, progressive bluegrass, newgrass and flattop acoustic jazz — will be inducted into the Bluegrass Hall of Fame at 4:05 p.m. Saturday.

If you go

Bill Monroe’s Bluegrass Hall of Fame & Uncle Pen Days Festival returns to Brown County, September 20-23.

Where: Bill Monroe Music Park and Campground is located at 5163 N. State Road 135, between Nashville and Morgantown in Brown County.

Tickets: $20 to $30 for pre-ordered daily tickets or $25 to $35 for daily tickets at the gate. Four-day admission $110 pre-ordered or $130 at the gate. Each festival ticket includes admission to the Bluegrass Hall of Fame & Country Star Museum, a tour of Uncle Pen’s Cabin, plus all vocal, music, and instrument workshops.

Information: Camping and ticket reservations can be made by calling 812-988-6422 or visit

Performance schedule


ClayBank, 11 a.m. and 6:25 p.m.

Dave Adkins Band, 11:45 a.m. and 7:05 p.m.

David Parmley & Cardinal Tradition, 12:30 p.m. and 7:45 p.m.

Feller & Hill & Bluegrass Buckaroos. 1:15 p.m.

Larry Stephenson Band, 2:20 p.m. and 8:25 p.m.

Jesse McReynolds & Virginia Boys, 3:05 p.m.

The Boxcars, 4:10 p.m. and 10:10 p.m.

The Po’ Ramblin Boys, 4:55 p.m.

Karl Shiflett & Big Country Show, 9:05 p.m.


Wildwood Valley Boys, 11 a.m.

Larry Efaw & Bluegrass Mountaineers, 12:05 p.m.

Kevin Prater Band, 1:10 p.m.

Steve Gulley & New Pinnacle, 2:15 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice, 3 p.m. and 6:15 p.m.

Joe Mullins & Radio Ramblers, 3:45 p.m. and 8:20 p.m.

Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, 4:30 p.m. and 9:05 p.m.

Darrell Webb Band, 9:50 p.m.


The Farm Hands, 10:30 a.m.

Trinity River Band, 11:35 p.m.

Danny Paisley & Southern Grass, 12:40 p.m. and 4:25 p.m.

Kenny & Amanda Smith Band, 1:30 p.m. and 5:15 p.m.

Flatt Lonesome, 2:20 p.m. and 6 p.m.

Grasstowne, 3:10 p.m. and 6:40 p.m.

Band of Ruhks, 7:20 p.m.

Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, 8:40 p.m.

Bobby Osborne & Rocky Top X-Press, 10 p.m.


Tommy Brown & County Line Grass, 10 a.m. and 4:40 p.m.

Tommy Sells & Big Country Bluegrass, 10:45 a.m. and 5:15 p.m.

Audie Blaylock & Redline, 11:25 a.m.

Larrty Cordle & Lonesome Standard Time, 12:30 p.m. and 6 p.m.

Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, 1:15 p.m. and 7:50 p.m.

Ronnie Reno & Reno Tradition, 2 p.m.

Blue Mafia, 3:05 p.m.

Larry Sparks & Lonesome Ramblers, 6:45 p.m.

Ralph Stanley II and Clinch Mountain Boys, 8:35 p.m.

The Grascals, 9:40 p.m.

Rickey Wasson Band, 10:45 p.m.