AUSTIN, Texas — Gov. Greg Abbott has taken the unusual step of replacing the chairman of the Texas Transportation Commission with another member of the panel.

Abbott’s office announced Tuesday that San Antonio banker J. Bruce Bugg Jr. will become chairman of the commission, replacing Tryon Lewis, a former state representative and district judge from Odessa.

Lewis will remain a member of the five-member panel that oversees the Texas Department of Transportation.

Both men were appointed by Abbott and are in the middle of six-year terms.

The Austin American-Statesman reports that it’s not clear why Lewis was replaced and Abbott’s office did not provide further comment.

Bugg didn’t answer why he was appointed chairman but pointed to Abbott’s Monday announcement about several changes in his senior staff.

Information from: Austin American-Statesman,