Jason Setser of Columbus captured the UMRA King of the TQ Midgets on Sept. 29 at Bloomington Speedway.

The race marked the final event of the 2017 season for the track. Setser was victorious in the feature race over Tate Martz of Rushville, Columbus native Derek Fisher, Jason Goff of Fortville and Callie Wolsiffer of New Palestine.

Saturday night will be the final points race of the season for the series. The event will be contested at the U.S. 24 Speedway in Logansport. Ron Combs of Greensburg is the current points leader heading into the final points-paying race of the season. He leads his Tony Stewart Racing teammate, Wolsiffer, by just 10 points. The series will be in action next weekend at the Annual Fin Fest at  Brownstown Speedway, but there will be no points awarded.

Current UMRA King of the TQ Midget points standings: 1. Combs 625; 2. Wolsiffer 615; 3. Goff 596; 4. Matt Hedrick 584; 5. Robbie Roland 534.

In other racing action Sept. 29 at Bloomington, Bradley Sterrett of Bloomington took the win in the modified feature over Jeremy Hines of Seymour, Jacoby Hines of Nineveh, Jeff Deckard of Ellettsville and Roy Bruce Jr. of Bloomington.

Adam Sasser of Bedford won the super stock main event over Jack Frye of Bloomington, Steve Peeden of Paragon, Steve Hollars of Bloomington and Josh Divine of Loogootee.

Brownstown results

Shelby Miles of Bloomington raced to his first Indiana Pro late model feature win of the season on Saturday at Brownstown Speedway. Miles, driving a car owned by Shannon Reed, won the feature event over Marty O’Neal of Spencer, Remington Gill of Mitchell, Tyler Cain of Seymour and Isaac Rainey of Bedford.

Matt Boknecht of Seymour won the modified feature for the fifth time this season, taking the win over Jeremy Hines of Seymour, Jerry Davis of Bedford, Logan Mounce of Mitchell and Tim Asbell of Paoli.

Mike Fields of Scottsburg took his first super stock feature of the year, outrunning points leader Jamey Wilson of Seymour and last week’s winner, Tim Schumpe of Vallonia. Jason Hehman of Brownstown came home fourth, and Colton Sullivan of Columbus was fifth.

Jason Combs of Seymour picked up the pure stock feature, taking the trophy for the sixth time this season over Tim Rivers of Salem, Zachary Stalker of Heltonville, Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee and Josh Hayes of Seymour.

A.J. Hobbs ended Donnie Modesty’s winning streak in the hornet division. Greg Garrison of Bloomington was second, with Daniel Hobbs grabbing third. Charles Ross of Seymour and Dale Hobbs completed the top-five drivers.

Twin Cities results

Brad Erwin of Crothersville took the checkered flag first in the crate late model feature on Saturday at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Erwin beat veteran racer Mark Barber of North Vernon to the finish line. Mason Covey of Seymour was third, with Keegan Cox of Franklin and David Bryant of Dupont claiming fifth.

Jeremy Owens of North Vernon won again in the modified class over Lee Hobbs of Mitchell, Dustin Golden of Bedford, John Baker of French Lick and John Trowbridge of North Vernon.

Troy Clark of North Vernon continues to be the driver to beat in the pure stock division. The veteran driver won over Mark Hines of Scipio, Houston Roark, Seth Hull and Charles Newby of Edinburgh.

Justin Patterson captured the win in the hornet feature. Jacob Owens of North Vernon was second, with Cordell Moore taking third. Owen Cosman of Martinsville and Andy Anderson rounded out the top five drivers.

Twin Cities will be back in action Saturday night with its season finale featuring crate late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit twincitiestrack.com.

Robinson wins at Florence

Kent Robinson of Bloomington won the late model feature on Saturday at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky. Robinson, the current points leader at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, took top honors in the Florence feature over Josh Rice of Verona, Kentucky; Jared Bailey Bedford; Dustin Nobbe of Batesville and Trevor Landrum of Erlanger, Kentucky. Columbus natives Derek Fisher and Nathan Vawter finished ninth and 16th, respectively in the late model main. Josh Rice won the modified feature over Brandon Green, Rick Corbin, Shawn Brown and Pete Holt. Broc Burton of Columbus was seventh in the feature race.

Florence Speedway will be back in action Saturday night with its season championship points race. For more info, visit florencespeedway.com.

USAC in action

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series invaded two Indiana tracks last weekend. On Sept. 29, the series headed to Montpelier Speedway and Saturday night, raced at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

At Montpelier, C.J. Leary came from third to first on the final lap to win a thrilling feature race. Chris Windom finished in second, with Kevin Thomas Jr. taking third. Veteran Dave Darland crossed the line in fourth, and Robert Ballou was fifth.

The next night at Lawrenceburg, Kevin Thomas Jr. was the feature winner, pocketing a $10,000 win over C.J. Leary, Justin Grant, Robert Ballou and Tyler Courtney. Columbus natives Joss Moffatt and J.J. Hughes finished 13th and 18th respectively in the feature.

Also at Lawrenceburg, Joey Kramer of Hanover won the modified feature over Kyle Schornick, Adam Stricker, Karl Johnson and Cory Skipton.

The next AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series race will on Oct. 14 at Terre Haute Action Track. For more info, visit usacracing.com.

Eldora hosts nationals

Stewart’s Eldora Speedway will hold the UMP Fall Nationals this weekend. The modifieds will conclude their national point season. Racing began on Thursday and continues tonight and Saturday night at the half-mile facility. The late model $5,000-to-win portion of the program will be held Saturday night. For more information, visit eldoraspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago, Gene Sutton was honored as the 1967 track champion at Brownstown Speedway, when the track held its awards banquet in Seymour.

Jack Owens finished second in points, with Jim Reichenba taking third. Jim Haley was fourth, and Paul Crockett was fifth. Columbus racers Gene and Russ Petro finished sixth and seventh, respectively. The rest of the top 10 for the season were Don Murphy, Ray Godsey and Gerald Dixon.