HYDERABAD, India — The India-Australia Twenty20 series was drawn after the third match was abandoned because of a wet outfield on Friday.

The umpires decided the outfield at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium was unfit for play within an hour of the scheduled start of play, much to the disappointment of the 30,000-strong crowd.

India won the first T20 and Australia the second.

Earlier, India won the five-match one-day international series 4-1.

Australia heads home to prepare for the Ashes, with the first test in Brisbane starting on Nov. 23.

India, meanwhile, awaits the arrival of New Zealand for three ODIs and three T20s over the next three weeks. The first ODI will be in Mumbai on Oct. 22.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.