St. Peter’s runners sweep own invitational

Staff Reports

St. Peter’s Lutheran swept the boys and girls titles in the inaugural St. Peter’s Lutheran Invitational at Noblitt Park.

The St. Peter’s boys scored a perfect 15 points, while Immanuel Lutheran finished second with 54, and Hauser was third with 72. The St. Peter’s girls scored 18 points to 43 for runner-up Immanuel Lutheran.

Will Baker of St. Peters won the boys race in 11 minutes, 44.6 seconds for two miles. Nathan Wettschurak finished second in 11:49.3, while Mateo Mendez was third (12:32.2), Tyler Blythe fourth (12:34.7) and J.T. Kuhlman fifth (12:34.7).

Noah Estes led Hauser with a seventh-place finish in 12:49.8.

Lily Baker won the girls race in 13:09.2 to lead St. Peter’s. Chloe Krueger finished second in 13:22.1, while Abigail Jacobi took fourth (15:01.1) and Kenzie Meyer was fifth (15:05.3).


East JV posts shutout

Cole Gilley threw for two touchdowns and a two-point conversion and ran for two two-point conversions to lead the Columbus East junior varsity to a 30-0 win against Jeffersonville.

Gilley’s scoring passes went for 30 yards to Zach Pierce and 20 yards to Tyler Settle, who caught the two-point conversion pass. Pierce also ran 35 yards for a touchdown, and Thorne Ross ran 25 yards for a score for the Olympians (7-1).


Icemen go 2-2 in tournament

The Columbus Icemen went 2-2 in their Fall Foliage Tournament at Hamilton Center Ice Arena.

The Icemen beat Evansville 3-2 before falling to Northern Kentucky 6-2 and Central Indiana 6-1. The Icemen then edged Evansville 3-2 for a second time.


Bowler sweeps game, series

Roberta Phillips rolled a 222 game and 565 series to sweep the women’s high game and series in the Wednesday Night Mixed League.

Steve Phillips recorded the men’s high game (248). Rickie Wilson Jr. had the men’s high series (657).

Brooklyn Dodgers posted the team high game (955), and Berkshire Hathaway had the team high series (2,648). C.B.C. No. 1 leads the team standings at 36-12.

Pro Wrestling

HPW hosts ‘Night of a Legend’

Hoosier Pro Wrestling hosted “Night of a Legend” at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Kenny Cage pinned Kid Thunder to win the HPW cruiserweight belt. Ace Jackson pinned Drax O’Brien, and WWE Hall of Famer Handsome Jimmy Valiant pinned Guy Lombardo.

Tank won a three-way dance against Scarecrow and Fireball, and Lightning Bolt beat Omega Pitbull.

Duke the Nuke and Tom Van Zant beat the Bambino Family by DQ, but the Bambinos kept the belts.

Vic The Bruiser beat DW1. Shawn Kemp beat Troy Van Zant in the HPW heavyweight title match.

Hoosier Pro Wrestling returns to the fairgrounds Nov. 4 for the 19th anniversary show and the 13th annual Firemen’s Cheer Fund Toy Drive show.