Brownstown Speedway wrapped up its 2017 racing season with the annual running of Fun Fest, which features several divisions of racecars competing over a three-day span.

Action began Oct. 13 with feature races for non-wing sprints and TQ midgets, along with odd and even features for the other classes.

Jordan Kinser of Bedford took the win in the non-wing sprints feature. Kinser who drives for the Hurst Brothers from Salem, also won the track championship at Lawrenceburg Speedway this year to complete the best season of his career.

Tate Martz of Rushville won the UMRA King of the TQ Midgets feature race. It was a non-points race for the series, which had its points title determined the week before after a rainout at 24 Speedway in Logansport. Ron Combs of Greensburg, who drives for Tony Stewart Racing, won the points championship this year.

Other Fun Fest winners from Oct. 13 at Brownstown were Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville (odd Indiana Pro late models feature) and Shelby Miles of Bloomington (even Indiana Pro late modesl feature), Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Kentucky (odd modifieds feature) and Jeremy Owens of North Vernon (even modifieds feature), Aubrey Eagan of Bedford (odd super stocks feature) and Jamey Wilson of Seymour (even super stocks feature), Houston Roark of Dupont (odd pure stocks feature) and Mickey Hines of Scipio (even pure stocks feature), Troy Clark of North Vernon (odd bombers feature) and Randy Petro of Columbus (even bombers feature) and Charles Ross of Seymour (odd hornets feature) and Jacob Owens of North Vernon (even hornets feature).

Action from Saturday night saw feature winners prevail in the following divisions of racing: Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh (super late models), Hudson O’Neal (Indiana Pro late models), Tyler Nicely (modifieds), Jamey Wilson (super stocks), Jim Ruddick of Seymour (pure stocks), Jason Combs of Seymour (bombers), Donnie Modesty of Seymour (hornets) and Tate Martz (TQ midgets).

The weekend concluded Sunday with Daniel Smith winning the hornets enduro and Mike Bailey the pure stocks enduro.

USAC Sprints visit Terre Haute

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series closed out its 2017 Midwest racing season Saturday at Terre Haute Action Track. Kevin Thomas Jr. emerged as the winner of the main event, taking the victory over Chris Windom, Chase Stockon, Brady Bacon and Dave Darland. Completing the top 10 were Tyler Courtney, Justin Grant, C.J. Leary, Kyle Cummins and Jerry Coons Jr. Joss Moffatt of Columbus was 19th in the final rundown.

The USAC National Sprint Car Series now will head west in two weeks. On Nov. 3 and 4, the series will race at the Arizona Speedway in San Tan Valley, Arizona. For more info, visit

Current points standings: 1. Justin Grant 2,006; 2. Chris Windom 1,977; 3. Kevin Thomas Jr. 1,891; 4. Tyler Courtney 1,862; 5. Chase Stockon 1,941

Eldora closes out season

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, closed out a successful 2017 racing season Saturday with three divisions of racing.

Joey Saldana took the top honors in the Arctic Cat All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car feature event. Hunter Schuerenberg was second, with Travis Philo, Rob Chaney and Carson Macedo completing the top-five drivers.

Randy Hannagan won the NRA Sprint Invaders main event. Dylan Westbrook finished second, with Jason Shultz coming home in third. Kyle Sauder was fourth, with Mark Smith grabbing fifth.

Chris Phillips led the field across the finish line to win the non-wing sprints feature race. Michael Fischesser, Nick Bilbee, Bill Rose and Matt Westfall trailed the winner to the checkers.

Salem ends with traditional race

Salem Speedway will complete its 2017 racing season Sunday with the running of the traditional Halloween 200 race. The 29th Annual event will pay $5,000 to win and feature the Lucas Oil Great American Stock Car Classic. Practice is Saturday, with the race starting at 1:30 p.m. Sunday. For more info, visit

Florence finale next weekend

Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky, will host its final event of the year Oct. 28. The “Fall 50” will feature super late models and modifieds, and should draw several cars from this area looking for one more race this year. Each division main event will pay $5,000 to win. For more info, visit

This week in racing history

From 30 years ago in 1987, John Gill won the late models track championship at Brownstown Speedway. Joe Johnson of North Vernon won the street stocks title, and Bob Johnson of Columbus captured the bombers crown.

Also from 1987 at Twin Cities, Dill Whittymore (late model) and Phil Fultz of Clifford (street stocks) were named the track champions.

In sprint car racing from 1987, Greg Staab won the Lawrenceburg Speedway track championship. Joe Roush took the Paragon title, and Randy Kinser won the Bloomington Speedway championship.

James Essex writes a motorsports notebook for The Republic. Send comments to