DAVIDSON, N.C. — Anthony Lawrence threw for 403 yards and three touchdowns and San Diego rolled past Davidson 63-7 on Saturday to win the outright Pioneer League Football championship.

The Toreros (8-2, 7-0) won their 20th consecutive PFL game along with an automatic berth into the FCS playoffs. San Diego has won nine PFL titles and claimed at least a share of six of the past seven.

Lawrence finished 24-of-28 passing with the Toreros gaining a school-record 706 yards offense. Michael Bandy had six catches for 133 yards and a score and Justin Priest 110 yards on eight catches with a touchdown. Alex Farina ran 87 yards for a score and passed for another touchdown, both in the fourth quarter.

Wesley Dugger rushed for 80 yards in going over 1,000 yards in his freshman season for the Wildcats (2-7, 0-7), who have lost seven straight.

San Diego scored touchdowns on five of seven first-half possessions in taking a 35-0 lead.

http://collegefootball.ap.org and http://www.twitter.com/AP_Top25

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.