FARGO, N.D. — North Dakota State University coach Chris Klieman has been named coach of the year in the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

The league announced Wednesday that Klieman had won the Bruce Craddock Coach of the Year Award for the first time in his career, through a vote of media, coaches and sports information directors.

Klieman guided the Bison to their seventh straight conference championship, reaching his 50th win in the process. He is just the fifth Bison coach to reach that mark. His teams have lost only six games in four seasons.

Klieman also is among 18 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, given to the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision coach of the year.

Separately, NDSU linebacker Jabril Cox swept the freshman of the year and newcomer of the year awards.