JUNEAU, Alaska — City officials are considering an ordinance to require electric vehicle owners to obtain a permit if they plan to use city-owned charging stations in Juneau.

Under a proposed ordinance expected to go before the Juneau Assembly, electric vehicle owners would need to buy a permit for $50 per year and place it on their rear car window, KTOO-FM reported Friday.

People caught charging without a valid permit at the city-owned stations would be fined $25.

People are currently allowed to charge their vehicles for free.

Discussions have been ongoing on creating some sort of permit system to help offset the cost of electricity for vehicle charging, said Duff Mitchell, secretary of the Juneau Electric Vehicle Association. He said he hopes the city will consult the electric vehicle community before rolling out a permit plan.

“We just want to make sure that we promote and encourage electric vehicle adoption,” Mitchell said. “We just want to make sure that maybe any permitting program is going to promote and assist the electric vehicle community.”

The utility Alaska Electric Light and Power estimated that there are about 200 electric vehicles on Juneau roads and about 2 vehicles are added each week.

The city could adopt the ordinance as early as next month.


Information from: KTOO-FM, http://www.ktoo.org