Election 2018: Candidates continue to file, all but 1 so far are Republican

Smith announced he will not seek re-election

The list of Bartholomew County candidates who have filed for office since Wednesday’s opening day is growing.

All but one of the 16 official candidates are Republicans. For the moment, the sole Democrat is Steve Schoettmer, seeking the District 59 state representative seat held by Rep. Jim Lucas, R-Seymour. Republican Charles Johnson has filed to oppose Lucas the Republican nomination in the District 59 primary this May.

Republican Ryan Lauer, former president of the Bartholomew County Council, is seeking the GOP nomination for Rep. Milo Smith’s House District 59 seat. Smith announced Thursday he will not seek re-election.

Also filing were:

State Senator, District 41 Greg Walker (R)

State Senator, District 43 Clyde A. (Chip) Perfect Jr. (R)

Bartholomew County auditor Pia O’Connor (R)

Bartholomew County recorder Tami L. Hines (R)

Bartholomew County treasurer Barb Hackman (R)

Bartholomew County commissioner, District 2 Carl H. Lienhoop (R)

Bartholomew County Council, District 1 Marcus D. Speer (R)

Bartholomew County Council, District 2 Laura DeDomenic (R)

Bartholomew County Council, District 4 Jorge “George” Morales (R)

Clay Township trustee John A. McDonald (R)

Wayne Township trustee Brenda K. Mijares (R)

Columbus Township advisory board J. Stuart “Stu” Cundiff (R)

Jackson Township advisory board Sue Ann Lee (R)

State convention delegate DeWayne Hines (R)

Filing deadline

Candidates have until 5 p.m. Feb. 9 to file for public office in the Voter Registration office, located just inside the main entrance of the Bartholomew County Courthouse, 234 Washington St., Columbus.

Author photo
Mark Webber is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at mwebber@therepublic.com or 812-379-5636.