Local lawmakers welcome area students to Statehouse

Several local state lawmakers recently welcomed area students to the Statehouse in Indianapolis.

Rep. Milo Smith, R-Columbus, welcomed student pages from ABC Stewart School in Columbus. They were:

  • August Brockhaus
  • Michelle Caldwell
  • Alli Chambers
  • Langling Chen
  • Iris Crough
  • Sawyer Gore
  • Kamden Hiquet
  • Zachary Kiser
  • Isabel Lynn
  • Gavin McCawley
  • Molly O’Connor
  • Catherine Roeder

As House pages, they toured government offices, helped staff with daily duties and joined Smith on the House floor during the legislative session.

Sen. Greg Walker, R-Columbus, welcomed student Senate pages in January. Those from Columbus were:

  • Caleb Dukes, home schooled
  • Hannah Gladden, L. Frances Smith Elementary School
  • Zachary Gladden, East High School
  • Caroline West, North High School

Sen. Eric Koch, R-Bedford, who represents a portion of Bartholomew County in District 44, also welcomed Senate pages in January. Those from Columbus were:

  • Richard Burton, Columbus Signature Academy
  • Abigail Folz, home schooled
  • Emma Folz, home schooled
  • Michael Wolf, Central Middle School

Senate pages spend a day at the Statehouse, touring the historic building, observing debates from the Senate floor and interacting with their state senators.