NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Tennessee’s Board of Regents has named the next presidents at Nashville State Community College and Motlow State Community College.

The board said Tuesday that Michael L. Torrence will take office as president of Motlow State on May 1. Shanna Jackson will begin leadership of Nashville State on June 1.

Chancellor Flora W. Tydings recommended Jackson and Torrence from among four finalists for each presidency selected by search committees appointed by the board.

Torrence is currently assistant vice president of academic affairs at Volunteer State Community College in Gallatin.

Jackson is an associate vice president and chief operating officer of Columbia State Community College’s Williamson Campus in Franklin.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.