University News – March 26

Woman receives leadership award

Julie Goodspeed-Chadwick, IUPUC Division of Liberal Arts, is the recipient of the Kathryn J. Wilson Award for Outstanding Leadership and Mentor-ing of Under-graduates.

Annually, a gift of $1,000 is award to an individual who has made significant contribution promoting undergraduate research. The award was created to honor Dr. Kathryn Wilson, the founding director of Center for Research and Learning (CRL). The four IUPUC students nominating Good-speed Chadwick include Brandi Rund, Emily Pedigo, Courtney Watkins and Bailey Burnett.

Story continues below gallery

Ivy Tech Columbus honors two faculty members

Ivy Tech Community College is honoring two of its faculty members at the Columbus campus for outstanding classroom instruction.

Rich Lamborn, associate professor of psychology and assistant chair for social and behavioral sciences, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction.

Andrew Strawn, adjunct mathematics instructor, received the Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Instruction.

The awards also nominate Lamborn for the Ivy Tech Founder’s Award, the highest honor the college can bestow on full-time faculty members, and Strawn for the Gerald I. Lamkin Award, the highest honor for an adjunct faculty member.

Lamborn has been an Ivy Tech instructor for more than 20 years. He earned his doctorate in clinical psychology from Central Michigan University, and his bachelor’s degree from Valparaiso University.

Strawn has been an Ivy Tech instructor since 2004. He has a master’s degree in mathematics and a bachelor’s degree in education, both from Indiana University — Bloomington.

Schneck accepting scholarship applications

Registered nursing school students can apply for a scholarship being offered through Schneck Medical Center in Seymour.

The medical center is offering the Dr. Bud scholarship, which was established in honor of Dr. H.P. “Bud” Graessle, a practicing physician and surgeon for 53 years until his retirement in 1971.

Candidates who are pursuing a course of study to become a registered nurse and have successfully completed their freshman year of a registered nursing program at an accredited school and are registered in their program are encouraged to apply.

Primary consideration will be given to Jackson, Jennings, Scott and Washington County residents. Acceptance for enrollment at a nursing school is required for the scholarship to be officially awarded.

Applications for the scholarship must be submitted to Schneck Medical Center on or before May 11. Applications for the scholarship can be found at

For more information, call Tammy Jones at 812-524-4236 or email

Bluegrass duo to appear at free IUPUC event

The Lotus Education and Arts foundation, in partnership with the IUPUC Division of Liberal Arts will present the Bluegrass duo Giri and UMA Peters. The public is invited to this free event scheduled for 7 p.m. April 3 in the Columbus Learning Center, Student Commons.

Giri and Uma Peters, brother-and-sister duo from Nashville, Tennessee, are award-winning multi-instrumentalists who perform a soulful blend of old-time, roots and bluegrass music.

Author photo
Matt Kent is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at 812-379-5712 or