the republic logo

3 local baseball pitchers honored

Follow The Republic:

Baseball season is right around the corner, and three of the area’s top players have been honored by Rawlings/Perfect Game.

Columbus North’s Daniel Ayers and Seymour’s Zack Brown are on Rawlings/Perfect Game’s Preseason Central Region All-High School Senior First Team. Ayers is a left-handed pitcher who has signed with Western Michigan, and Brown is a left-handed pitcher headed to Kentucky.

Columbus East senior Brian Wichman is a Central Region Honorable-Mention selection. Wichman is a left-handed pitcher who has committed to Murray State.

The high school season begins next week.

3 city seniors in top 100

Three Columbus boys basketball players have been selected to Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 100 Senior Boys.

North’s Sawyer Glick and Tori Jackson and East’s Zach Martindale are among players eligible to be invited to the Top 60 Workout, which will be April 7 at Marian University. Glick and Jackson are the only area players listed on this year’s Indiana All-Star ballot.

Glick averaged 13.0 points and 4.1 rebounds and led the Bull Dogs with 2.3 assists and 2.2 steals a game. Jackson scored 10.4 points and led North with 7.8 rebounds and 1.7 blocks. Martindale averaged 9.8 points and 2.4 rebounds.

Players earn all-conference

Two basketball players from East and one from Jennings County have been selected to this year’s All-Hoosier Hills Conference squad.

East junior Bryce Lienhoop and senior Nate Rich and Jennings senior Bailey Sanders are on the first team. East seniors Ridge Harris and Kyle Taylor, Jennings junior Brad Hunt and senior Tommy Taylor and Seymour junior Landon Booth are honorable-mention selections.

Edinburgh senior honored

Edinburgh’s Jennifer Stinson is one of 27 senior girls named to this year’s Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Academic All-State first team.

Four area boys seniors are honorable mention selections to the Academic All-State boys squad. North’s Clint Cunningham, East’s Connor Jensen, South Decatur’s Taylor Kopplin and Jennings County’s Bryson Mills are the honorees.

IBCA-member head coaches can nominate seniors who have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, a class rank in the top 25 percent, an SAT score of 1,500 or better or an ACT score or 23 or better. An IBCA committee then reviews the information and selects a first team and honorable mention.

Jennings AD to be on broadcast

Jennings athletics director and assistant boys basketball coach Mike Broughton will be the color commentator on the IHSAA Champions Television Network for Saturday’s Class A and 2A state finals games.

Greg Rakestraw will handle the play-by-play, and Chris May will be the sideline reporter for the 10:30 a.m. Borden vs. Triton Class A and 12:45 p.m. Linton vs. Bowman Academy Class 2A games. Jerry Baker, Steve Witty and Jeremiah Johnson will call the Class 3A game between Greensburg and Fort Wayne Concordia at 6:30 p.m. and the Class 4A game between Cathedral and Carmel at 8:45 p.m.

The games can be seen locally on WTTV-Channel 4.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.