the republic logo

Campus shifting to Indy region

Follow The Republic:

Ivy Tech Community College’s Franklin campus is being moved from the Columbus region to the college’s central Indiana region.

The move is another in a series of steps taken by the statewide Ivy Tech system to realign administration of its campuses.

Until now, Johnson County has been split, with Ivy Tech’s central Indiana region serving the northern part of the county, while the Columbus region served the southern part of the county.

Nearly 60 percent of the 1,200 students taking classes at the Franklin campus live in counties served by the Indianapolis region, however, and the shift will give officials more opportunities to better serve those students, spokesperson Kelly Hauflaire said.

The Columbus and Southeast regions were consolidated under the leadership of interim Chancellor Steven Combs, appointed in mid-January after Chancellor John Hogan accepted a promotion to the district’s central office.

Ivy Tech announced that reorganization Jan. 7, combining Columbus with the southeastern locations of Batesville, Lawrenceburg and Madison.

Combs had been vice chancellor of academic affairs for the Columbus/Franklin region.

The Franklin campus, meanwhile, is making its own transition plans.

“We’ll soon begin working to align our academic programing with our Indianapolis campus so that we can better serve students living in the broader Indianapolis area,” Franklin campus executive director Tina Gross said.

The shift shouldn’t affect the courses offered at the Franklin campus, which include degree programs in criminal justice, education, business administration and liberal studies, Hauflaire said.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.