the republic logo

Columbus students move on to state music competition

Follow The Republic:

Columbus North students recently competed in the Indiana State School Music Association District Solo and Ensemble Contest.

Students perform solos or in an ensemble. These are categorized into different groups depending on the difficulty of the music. Students who perform in Group I (most difficult music) can move on to state if they receive a gold medal.

Students received 72 gold medals and 14 silver medals. Of those, 41 solos move on to state, and 75 students in ensembles move on.

Group I students who qualified for state contest:

Solos: Elizabeth Pan and Rachel Ollestad, piccolo; Laura Pierson, Meredith Ondrejack, Rachel Ollestad and Elizabeth Pan, flute; Rachel Davis, oboe; Brittany Davis, Clayton Auton, Jacob Bricker, Johanna Anderson, Sam Heichelbech and Sophia Janic, clarinet; Amelia Bus, Christine Homer, Clayton Stine, Devon Rhoades, Iori Kato, Lauren Britt and Madeline Cain, alto sax; Evan Stavnheim, tenor sax; Yoko Yato and Adam Ruble, French horn; Haley Mack, Hayden Lowe, Neil Lapidus, Nickie Mitch and Tushar Chandra, trumpet; Andrew Hacker, Tiger Fu, Zach Chelf and Ben Porter, trombone; Brian Pierson, tuba; Henry Lay, euphonium; Akari Takeda, tympani; Akari Takeda, marimba; and Michael Freed, Daniel Padilla, Rachel Stroia, Miranda Blevins and Sean Kirchman, violin.

Ensembles: Ondrejack Brass Sextet, Bricker Clarinet Choir, Pan Flute Choir, Chandra Large Brass Ensemble, Freed Large String Ensemble, Vo Large String Ensemble, Pan Sax Quartet.

Group I students who received silver ratings:

Solos: Meredith Ondrejack, piccolo; Sarah Gloeckner, flute; Hannah Davies, oboe; Zac White, French horn; Hayden Mead, trombone; Caleb White and Scott Brown, euphonium; and Hayden Mead, tuba.

Ensembles: Ruble Horn Quartet, Blevins Violin Trio.

Group II and III students who received gold ratings:

Solos: Madelyn Logan, flute; Erin Booth, oboe; Haley Mack, bassoon; Lillie Petro and Nina Boutier, clarinet; Catherine Gallant, bass clarinet; Seth Sharpe, tenor sax; Macey Franklin, French horn; Caleb Bray, Noah Bell and Katherine Homer, trumpet; Erin Brown, Andrew Liu and Alexa Streeval, trombone; Brandon Wolter, euphonium; Lucas Cooper, tuba; Matt Allman, snare drum; and Erica Le, Caroline Boyle and Maria Fischer, violin.

Ensembles: Caldwell Woodwind Trio, Heichelbech Woodwind Trio, Embry Large Brass Ensemble.

Group II and III students who received silver ratings:

Solos: Natasha Davis, flute; Kathleen Haegale, oboe; Richard Liu, trumpet; and Sai Pamidighantam, violin.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.