the republic logo
A Winter Weather Advisory has been issued for Bartholomew, Brown and Decatur counties.   Click for details
The Winter Storm Watch has been upgraded. A Winter Weather Advisory has been issued for Jackson and Jennings counties.   Click for details

Cummins garners award for headlines

Follow The Republic:

Cummins Inc. is the 2013 Newsmaker of the Year, honored by Diesel Progress North American magazine for the third time as the company making the most, and biggest, headlines.

The company also received the award in 2002 and 2007.

The award was created in 1997 to honor the company, person, product, technology or industry trend that made the most news in the heavy-duty industrial engine and equipment markets.

Cummins’ new engine platforms, integrated powertrains and “all kinds of engine business news” led to the company’s selection, according to Diesel Progress Publisher Mike Osenga.

Key factors leading to the honor were Cummins’ broad range of on- and off-highway engine introductions, its expanding relationship with Navistar and the launch of the SmartAdvantage Powertrain with partner Eaton.

Products launched over the last few years “have been some of our best,” said Tom Linebarger, Cummins chairman and chief executive officer.

Navistar expanded its lineup last year to include a Cummins engine for medium-duty trucks and for buses. Also in 2013, a Cummins engine partnered with SmartAdvantage powertrain technology was introduced to improve fuel economy and provide better performance in every gear.

The Newsmaker award is just the latest in which Cummins or its employees have been honored on the national stage.

Cummins was named the No. 1 company in America on Feb. 28 by The Motley Fool, a multimedia financial services company.

Other honors involving Cummins or its employees this past year:

Aleksey Yezerets, director of catalyst technology, was the sixth Cummins employee in company history to be named an SAE fellow, indicating “outstanding engineering and scientific accomplishments.”

Xiaoping Yang was named a fellow by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the highest honor the organization bestows.

Vice President and Chief Technical Officer John Wall received the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 2013 Soichiro Honda Medal.

Don't settle for a preview.
Subscribe today to see the full story!

  • Hybrid
  • $11/month
  • Sat / Sun Delivery
  • Sat / Sun Coupons
  • Weekend Magazines
  • Full Digital Access
  • E-Edition Access
  • Buy Now
  • Premium
  • $16/month
  • 7-Day Print Delivery
  • All coupons
  • Special Magazines
  • Full Digital Access
  • E-Edition Access
  • Buy Now
  • Digital Only
  • $11/month
  • -
  • -
  • -
  • Full Digital Access
  • E-Edition Access
  • Buy Now

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.