the republic logo

Cummins honors employees' inventions with Perr Award

Follow The Republic:

COLUMBUS, Ind. — Cummins has honored seven employees, six of whom work in Columbus, with the company's highest technical award for a pair of inventions that save fuel or improve reliability of the manufacturer's engines.

Mark D. Akins, Bryan W. Milburn, Dennis M. King and Greg M. Pataky, all of whom work in Columbus, were recognized with the 2012 Dr. Julius Perr Award for their improvements in turbocharger technology on Cummins’ mid-range engines.

Steven M. Bellinger, Bryan C. Tyler and John F. Kalill shared in the Perr Award, which is named for the late Dr. Julius Perr who fled Hungary and Communist rule in 1958, eventually working for Cummins and having a hand in 80 patents.

The three men — Bellinger and Tyler in Columbus and Kalill in the United Kingdom — developed a speed-control system for heavy loads that lowers fuel consumption, emissions and truck noise.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.