the republic logo

Dancers shine at national contest

Follow The Republic:

Sonya’s Dance Studio sent more than 50 children and young adults to a national competition and returned to Columbus with six age-group championships and a “best-of-the-best” title in tow.

The boys and girls, ranging in age from 4 to 19, competed June 28 to 30 in Sandusky, Ohio.

Forty-nine local performers won the 13-and-Up Productions national championship for “Decade of Jackson.” The same group followed that success by claiming the 13-and-Up World Cup championship, a competition that pits the top scorers in each category against each other, said Sonya Denney, the studio owner.

Hundreds of performances are winnowed to one overall age-group winner. The World Cup title was the studio’s third in a row, Denney said.

Sonya’s Dance Studio has won a national championship four years in a row, Denney said. Usually the studio wins two or three, she added.

Those who won titles were:

National champion 8-and-under small group: Blainey Bennett, Adelynn Coy, Scarlett Green, Cierra McCauley and Skyelar Ross for “Material Girl.”

National champion 9 to 12 years old duet/trio: Lauren Grider, Sydnee Gurthrie and Olivia Keller for “Zoot Suit Riot.”

National champion 9 to 12 years old small group: Shelby Brooks, Brooklyn Burbrink,

Lauren Grider, Sydnee Guthrie, Olivia Keller and Alyssa Murray for “Fly.”

National champion 13-and-up duet/trio: Syndee Guthrie and Betsy Woodworth for “Schindler’s List.”

National champion 13-and-up large group: Melany Alvey, Racine Davis, Melissa Denney, Shelby Gooldy, Emma McAlister, Lauren McNeely, Lilly Reynolds, Madison Stanton, Sarah Towsley, Dawn Wilson and Betsy Woodworth for “I Believe.”

World Cup champion 13-and-up and national champion 13-and-up productions: Melany Alvey, Olivia Bailey, Victoria Bell, Blainey Bennett, Maggy Boggs, Shelby Brooks, Adelynn Coy, Racine Davis, Chloe Delgado, Kiya Denney, Melissa Denney, Emelia Duchow, Macayla Faulkner, Shelby Gooldy, Scarlett Green, Lauren Grider, Paige Grider, Gabby Grimes, Hannah Grimes, Sydnee Guthrie, Amanda Heideman, Haleigh Hoffman, Katie Hoffman, Rachel Hoke, Hannah Holliday, Kylah Humphress, Avery Keller, Olivia Keller, Grace Lemley, Emma McAlister, Cierra McCauley, Lauren McNeely, Alyssa Murray, Nathan Patton, Lilly Reynolds, Skyelar Ross, Rachel Rudzinski, Celia Schutte, Emma Smith, Kaylee Smith, Gracie Sorrells, Madison Stanton, Brooklyn Sulinski, Brooke Thomas, Rissa Towsley, Sarah Towsley, Hannah Wever, Dawn Wilson and Betsy Woodworth for “Decade of Jackson.”

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.