the republic logo

Experienced pair of candidates seek county clerk position

Follow The Republic:

Two Bartholomew County Clerk’s office employees are seeking the Republican nomination to replace Tami Hines.

Karen Aud is the chief deputy in the county clerk’s office.

Jay Phelps is the supervisor of the county’s voter registration and elections office, a department within the county clerk’s office.

Aud began working for the county 11 years ago in the Community Corrections Department. In 2008, she was chosen as chief deputy when Hines took office and has served in that capacity since.

Aud said she has developed a deep passion for the work of the clerk’s office and her individual skills of leadership, accurate accounting and customer service have prepared her to serve in that role.

“As chief deputy for the past six years, I have assisted the clerk in the operations of all departments and functions of the office,” Aud said. “I have prepared all our department budgets and claims with an annual total of nearly $1 million. I have supported the clerk with management of a staff of 15.”

Phelps started working in the Voter Registration and Elections office three years ago. Prior to that, he interned at Cummins Inc. in the human resources department, and in the Indiana House Republican Caucus at the Statehouse.

Phelps said he wants to be county clerk to utilize his passion, energy and experience to serve the citizens and taxpayers of Bartholomew County with the utmost integrity.

“The combination of my personal, educational, and professional experience qualifies me to be county clerk,” Phelps said. “Most people don’t realize the diversity of items in which our clerk’s office serves our community. I will use my hard-work ethic and helpful attitude to make our clerk’s office the best in the state of Indiana.”

Hines is limited to two terms and will leave office in January. Her first term in office was three years instead of four, due to a change in the county’s holdover system for the office. The county clerk began serving four-year terms after the 2010 general election.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.