the republic logo

Get involved: Day of service offers opportunities to help


Follow The Republic:


Columbus Housing Authority: Volunteers needed to help with a painting project that will take a group of about 20 people four hours to complete. Contact Jill Sharp at jill@columbushome.net or 812-378-0005.

Challenge in Elizabethtown: Volunteers needed to help with beautification events in and around Elizabethtown. To volunteer, contact Rebecca Barnett at rebecca.barnett@cummins.com.

Scottish Festival: Volunteers needed to help set up. Contact Julie Jordan at volunteer@scottishfestival.org.

Foundation for Youth: Trail maintenance requires 20 volunteers. Contact Karina Willats at karina@foundationforyouth.com or 812-348-4558.

Parks and Recreation: Maintenance of Jonathan Moore Pike People Trail needs 30 to 40 volunteers, and 20 volunteers are needed for the maintenance of the Clifty Creek People Trail. Contact Dick Boyce at dboyce@columbus.in.gov or 812-371-0725.

Sans Souci: Volunteers needed for extensive store maintenance and renovations. Contact Logan Richard at 812-372-3419 or info@sanssouci.org.

Boy Scouts of America Hoosier Trails Council: Volunteers needed to prepare for popcorn event. Contact Bob DeWar at bdewar@bsamail.org

Pregnancy Care Centers of South Central Indiana: Eight volunteers needed for landscaping assistance. Contact Christy Shaw at 812-378-4114 or christys@affirminglifeonline.org.

Orphan Grain Train: 10 volunteers needed to sort clothing. Contact Gene Wint, 812-579-6884, genewint@aol.com.

Eastside Community Center: Need 20 volunteers for fence painting, harvesting the garden and tomato canning. Contact Jeff Bradley at jeff@eastcc.org or 812-341-0234.

Horizon House and Horizon Point: Need 25 volunteers for yard work, painting and playground maintenance. Contact Debbie Morrow at dmorrow@hsi-indiana.com or 812-374-8167

Thrive Alliance: Volunteers needed for construction and to distribute information. Contact Vickie Bateman at VBateman@thrive-alliance.org or 812-314-2736.

Legal Aid District 11: Volunteers needed for file moving and office reorganization. Contact Karla Davis Green at kgreen@legaldistrict11.org or 812-314-2721.

Utopia Wildlife, Inc.: Volunteers needed for painting and yard work; volunteers will get to meet some animal residents. Contact Kathleen Hershey, utopiarehab@gmail.com, 812-546-6318.

Don't settle for a preview.
Subscribe today to see the full story!

  • Hybrid
  • $11/month
  • Sat / Sun Delivery
  • Sat / Sun Coupons
  • Weekend Magazines
  • Full Digital Access
  • E-Edition Access
  • Buy Now
  • Premium
  • $16/month
  • 7-Day Print Delivery
  • All coupons
  • Special Magazines
  • Full Digital Access
  • E-Edition Access
  • Buy Now
  • Digital Only
  • $11/month
  • -
  • -
  • -
  • Full Digital Access
  • E-Edition Access
  • Buy Now

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.