the republic logo

Heritage fund increases scholarships, expands eligibility

Follow The Republic:

Heritage Fund — the Community Foundation of Bartholomew County has expanded eligibility criteria for 19 scholarships and will offer two new scholarships in spring 2013.

That means more students than ever now qualify for financial assistance in the upcoming year as they pursue college degrees.

Applications and a list of the more than 70 Heritage Fund scholarships are available at Completed and signed applications must be received no later than 4 p.m. Feb. 15 at the foundation office, 538 Franklin St.

Criteria expansion came as a result of a fall 2012 foundation review, which led to:

  • The first-time inclusion of the Columbus Signature Academy New Tech campus and the International School of Columbus as eligible for many of the scholarships.
  • A modification of the S. Edgar and Delora L. Lauther Memorial business scholarship from a one-year award to a four-year award and the first-time eligibility of graduating high school seniors to receive one.

Chrissy Alspaugh, scholarship manager for the Heritage Fund, said foundation officials updated their eligibility list to include CSA New Tech and the International School of Columbus because those high schools did not exist when many of the foundation’s scholarships were established.

Even though the CSA New Tech high school has its own school building, its students officially are enrolled either at Columbus North High School or Columbus East High School.

Alspaugh said that means those students were eligible for scholarships all along. Still, only three New Tech students applied last year, indicating many did not know they qualified.

However, students at the International School are actually enrolled there, which means they did not qualify until the update.

The increase of the S. Edgar and Delora L. Lauther Memorial Scholarship to four years per recipient and the inclusion of graduating high school students are among the biggest changes to result from the foundation review.

Established in 2011, the business scholarship had been awarded just to upperclassmen in college, graduate students and professionals in banking and finance who are continuing their education.

Now, graduating high school seniors are eligible, assuming they meet criteria and are residents of Bartholomew County.

The Heritage Fund also has created two new scholarships for 2013: the Ralph “Brownie” Brown Scholarship and the Phil Jackson Memorial Fast-Pitch Softball Scholarship, Alspaugh said.

The Ralph “Brownie” Brown Scholarship was established by Brown’s family and friends to help Columbus East High School students — including CSA New Tech and McDowell Education Center students enrolled at East — to continue their pursuit of a vocational pathway.

That scholarship will be awarded to a graduating

senior who has completed a C4 program of study that follows the Indiana Pathway Program.

The applicant must average at least a 5.0 GPA on a 12.0 scale in C4 classes and plan to attend any Ivy Tech Community College campus to complete at least a one-year program in the Ivy Institute to earn a technical certificate or associate degree.

Brown taught industrial arts and vocational education at East from its opening in 1972 until he retired.

He continued his involvement with students athletically, vocationally and academically for many years after his retirement.

The Phil Jackson Memorial Fast-Pitch Softball Scholarship was established by Jackson’s family to help one graduating senior who is a Bartholomew County resident and played softball four years in high school.

The applicant must have at least a 2.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale or a 5.0 GPA on a 12.0 scale.

Jackson, who died in 2006, coached high school and fast-pitch softball in Columbus for more than a decade, Alspaugh said.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.