the republic logo

Larson captures 1st pole of career

Follow The Republic:

Kyle Larson set a track record of 183.438 mph to win his first career Sprint Cup pole Friday at Pocono Raceway.

Larson, 22, drove midgets for Columbus-based Keith Kunz Motor-sports as a teenager.

Last season, Larson was the NASCAR Nationwide Series Rookie of the Year.

Denny Hamlin had set the previous Pocono record (Sprint Cup) of 181.415 mph in June.

Joey Logano joins Larson on the front row. Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch and Jeff Gordon completed the top five. Gordon followed his fifth Brickyard 400 win with another strong qualifying run.

Keselowski is pulling double duty this weekend and also will drive in the Nationwide Series race at Iowa Speedway.

Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Jamie McMurray, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Danica Patrick completed the top 10.

Larson currently drives for Chip Ganassi Racing. He also competes in the NASCAR  Camping World Truck Series.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.