the republic logo

School news roundup (March 3, 2014)

Follow The Republic:

Science team takes second

The Southside Elementary Science Bowl team placed second in the statewide Indiana Association of School Principals science competition.

Team members are: FeiFei Xiao, Jennifer Kang, Zach Brunnemer, Soumya Paliwal, Sam Morrill, Graham Keele, Pranav Venkataraman, Sai Pamidighantam, Joey Zhao, Jack Tregoning, Pranav Kumarasubramanian, Grace Wang, Sveni Thalor, Conner Arbuckle, Ashley Pritchard, Sierra Roberts, Rohan Gupta and Bhavey Jain.

Scholarships available

WISH-TV and its parent company, LIN Media, have expanded the eligibility for its Minority Scholarship and Training Program to sophomores and juniors and is now accepting applications until March 31.

The company will award a scholarship and internship in both broadcast television and digital media to commence in summer 2014.

Each student will receive a 1- or 2-year scholarship for $10,000 per year, which can be used for tuition, fees, books and room and board. The internship provides students with hands-on training at one of its television stations or digital business across the country.

The application and criteria can be found online at

Shop slates open house

A “Sweet Spring Time” open house will be March 13 to 15 at The Trinity Lutheran High School Resale Shop, 601 W. Second St. in Seymour.

Spring fashions will be featured for body and home 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. March 13 and 14 and 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. March 15.

Students serve as pages

The following students served as Indiana House Pages during the 2014 session of the Indiana General Assembly. Pages are able to see how the state legislature works firsthand in a behind-the-scenes tour and then work alongside legislators, legislative assistants and interns.

ABC-Stewart School: Paige Bishop, Eva Chevalier, Delaney Donovan, Bree Gayman, Deetya Iyer, Katie Kime, Emie Kiser, Lovisa Malmstad, Adam Sand, Caitlin Wager, Fiona Warner.

Central Middle School: Nathan Holland.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.