the republic logo

Willie Cauley-Stein of Kentucky, Malcolm Brogdon of Virginia among Wooden Award nominees


LOS ANGELES — Willie Cauley-Stein of top-ranked Kentucky, Malcolm Brogdon of No. 2 Virginia and Jahlil Okafor of third-ranked Duke are among the nominees for the John R. Wooden Award, given to the nation's top college basketball player.

They were among 15 players on the ballot released Saturday by the Los Angeles Athletic Club. Voting runs March 16-23 and includes the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. Nearly 1,000 national media members vote on the award, while fans can vote online.

Other players on the ballot are: Ron Baker of Wichita State, Rakeem Christmas of Syracuse, Jerian Grant of Notre Dame, BYU's Tyler Haws, Buddy Hield of Oklahoma, Frank Kaminsky of Wisconsin, Georges Niang of Iowa State, Bobby Portis of Arkansas, Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell, Seth Tuttle of Northern Iowa, Kyle Wiltjer of Gonzaga and Delon Wright of Utah.

The nominees will be cut to 10 during the final eight of the NCAAs, and the five finalists will be announced March 30.

The Wooden Award for the top men's and women's players will be presented April 10.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.