the republic logo

Indiana re-elects congressional delegation in back-to-back election for 1st time since 1986


INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana has re-elected all nine incumbent U.S. House members after voting in seven new representatives in the previous two elections.

Tuesday's vote marks the first time since 1986 that Indiana's entire congressional delegation has been elected in back-to-back elections.

Every Indiana House incumbent won re-election in 2008, but Rep. Andre Carson had been in office only nine months that year after replacing his late grandmother, Julia Carson.

The current delegation includes seven Republicans and two Democrats.

Republican Reps. Jackie Walorski, Susan Brooks and Luke Messer were elected to second terms, while GOP Reps. Marlin Stutzman, Todd Rokita, Larry Bucshon and Todd Young won third terms. Democrat Pete Visclosky won a 16th term, while Carson was elected to a fourth full term.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.