the republic logo

Small Business Administration makes disaster loans available in 12 Alabama counties


MONTGOMERY, Alabama — The U.S. Small Business Administration says disaster loans are available in 12 Alabama counties due to a drought this fall.

The agriculture disaster declaration covers Chambers, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Randolph, Shelby, Talladega and Tallapoosa counties.

The Small Business Administration says the loans are available to small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses involved in aquaculture and most private non-profit organizations.

The loans can be for up to $2 million. The interest rate is 4 percent for small businesses and it is about 2.6 percent for private non-profit organizations.


Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.